Vanden’s Brand, Williams earn top all-SCAC honors

By From page B1 | November 07, 2012

In a season in which no city high school football team had a winning record for the first time in 30 years, only Vanden from the four landed anyone on a first team in all-league selections done on Tuesday.

Despite finishing fifth in the Solano County Athletic Conference, the Vikings struck it rich with senior left tackle Kenny Brand being named Lineman of the Year and junior linebacker Elijah Williams being named co-Defensive Player of the Year with Chris Seisay of American Canyon. Benicia quarterback Ryan Bohnet was chosen Offensive Player of the Year, while American Canyon’s Jomon Dotson was named Back of the Year.

All told, Vanden finished with six first teamers.

Over in the Monticello Empire League, no players from Armijo or Rodriguez made the first team offensive or defensive squads while nine were named to the second team.

Vacaville’s Curtis Goins repeated as Player of the Year, while teammate Jeramy Seany was named Lineman of the Year. Back of the Year honors went to Napa’s Zach Jones.

“I think things turned out really, really well,” Vanden coach LeVon Haynes said, “being a fifth-place team and still landing six first-team guys. . . . It shows guys we have impressed coaches throughout the league.”

As for those earning top honors, “One was a surprise (Brand), while I felt the other should be (defensive) player of the year,” Haynes said. “The way our league is, we’ve got a load of teams that run the ball and usually when you have lineman of the year you usually win league.”

Williams, however, was no surprise to Haynes despite being injured throughout the season.

“The kid had over 100 tackles for us this season,” the coach said. “He played with a broken hand, he played with one arm all season and had an outstanding year.”

Also being named to the all-SCAC first team for Vanden were running back Ren Littlepage, receiver Christian Basden, defensive lineman John Stevenson and defensive back Cedric Taylor.

Landing on the second team were defensive backs Billy Hurst and Devin Bruner, while quarterback Jadon Brisendine, left guard Aron Kirschbaum, defensive tackle Sergio Barajas, and linebackers John Forsythe and Mike Weaver earned honorable mention.

Making the second team were offensive lineman Rito Gomez, running back and linebacker Eric Clark, defensive lineman Marcus Blanton and defensive back Tyler Ross.

Meanwhile, the all-MEL selections were unkind to Rodriguez and Armijo. Landing spots on the second team for the Mustangs were offensive and defensive tackle Mark Papish, receiver Arron Short, running back Gage Ealy, linebacker Zack Williams and defensive back Hashim Boyd.

Making the second team for Armijo were guard Danny Charos, running back Damian Simpson and linebacker Enrique Garrido-Ramirez.

Receiving honorable mention were Tyler McGregor, Christian Marmolejo, Elise Toeta, Greg Forkes, Jordan Rozul and Taz Udell of Armijo, as well as Short and Justin Allen of Rodriguez.

Befitting its standing as the four-time MEL champion, Vacaville landed eight on the first team offense, six on the first team defense.

Those on the offense are Sweany at tight end, Goins at running back, tackle Eric Gabbard, guard Danny Delgado, center Chris Lai, receiver Tyler Cummins, running back David Mewborn and quarterback Nic Ardave. Making the defensive unit were Sweany at defensive line, Goins at defensive back and punter, Kenyon Clay at defensive line, linebacker Nick Lacey and defensive back Jacob Te’o.

Wood’s first teamers were running back Jonathan Camacho, defensive lineman Deontae Frank, linebacker Josh Winters and defensive back Desmond McIver.

Reach Paul Farmer at 425-4646, ext. 264, or [email protected] Follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/pfarmerdr.

Paul Farmer

Paul Farmer is a 1985 graduate of Brigham Young University. The Suisun City resident has been with the Daily Republic Sports Department since 1989 and has served as sports editor since 2007. He and his wife Jackie have four children.

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.