Vanden’s Blair, Rodriguez’s Abraham, Fairfield’s Hart-Spikes named respective league MVPs

By From page B1 | February 26, 2014

FAIRFIELD — After helping their respective basketball teams win league championships, three local high school players were rewarded for their efforts.

The Monticello Empire League and Solano County Athletic Conference held their all-league meetings, Monday, and three city players – Vanden’s Kayla Blair, Rodriguez’s Rishod Abraham and Fairfield’s Demoriaye Hart-Spikes – were named MVP of their respective leagues.

The Vikings’ Blair was the girls’ top choice in the SCAC after averaging 15.3 points per game in 24 outings this season, adding 2.9 rebounds and two steals per game, according to Maxpreps.com.

The Mustangs’ Rishod Abraham was chosen as the boys’ MEL player of the year, averaging 17.9 points per game this season.

The Falcons’ Hart-Spikes was the top choice for the SCAC boys, edging out Vanden’s DeMarre Walker by three points, according to Vikings coach Micheal Holloway.

Hart-Spikes averaged 17.1 points and 3.8 rebounds per game for the Falcons, while Maxpreps.com stats has Walker averaging 16.5 points, 2.9 rebounds and 5.3 assists per outing.

Kiana Moore and Julia Blackshell-Fair joined Blair on the all-SCAC girls’ first team, with Aleseana Whitney Chantell Greer, Brittany Kirbyson and Alex Bader being named to the all-SCAC honorable mention team.

Earning academic all-league honors for Vanden were Blair, Bader, Kirbyson, Blackshell-Fair and Mariah Williams.

Vanden coach Allison Johnson said a Fairfield representative didn’t attend the SCAC meeting, so no nominations were made for the Falcons.

The Rodriguez High girls basketball team had three players land on the all-MEL first team.

Janessa Boling, Briana Hayles and Destiny Greenwood were chosen for the Mustangs, while Passion Ware was named to the first team for Armijo.

Rodriguez’s Daraja Carroll, Azhiana Musolf, Ally Tacdol and Genna Smith, along with Armijo’s Tiffini Mestas, were all-MEL honorable mention.

Napa’s Kelsi Maday was named the MEL’s MVP and Napa’s Darci Ward was the Coach of the Year.

Keanu Williams was a boys’ first-team selection for the Mustangs, while Kyle Williams, Tim Moore and Armani Reed were named honorable mention. Rodriguez’s Nate Rankin was chosen as the MEL Coach of the Year.

Tyree Carrie was a first-team all-MEL pick for Armijo, while Bryce Lumpkins and Jordan Allen were honorable mention.

Vanden’s Thomas Avent and the Falcons’ Sean Gray were also all-SCAC first-teamers.

The Vikings’ Jihad Woods, Tony Terry III and Jansen Smith were SCAC honorable mention, as was Fairfield’s Maurice Trotter.

Vanden’s Holloway was named the SCAC Coach of the Year.

Brian Arnold

Brian Arnold

1992 graduate of San Francisco State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Journalism.

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.