Somerville, Jenks win in SCAC center meet

By From page B2 | September 27, 2012

VALLEJO — The Vanden High boys and girls cross country teams had the individual winners, but both finished second to Benicia in the team competitions in a Solano County Athletic Conference center meet at Hanns Park on Wednesday.

The Vikings boys finished with 31 points, one more than the winning Panthers. American Canyon was next with 76, followed by Fairfield with 110.

“That’s a tough one,” lamented Vikings coach Sherman Martinez. “That’s a long way to go and miss by one point.”

Vanden’s Kyle Somerville won the boys race in 15 minutes, 31 seconds, four seconds ahead of runner-up Nick Strohl of Benicia. Aidan Schraer of the Vikings was third (15:44) with the rest of the team finishing in a pack with Jacque Henderson eighth (17:13), Jonathan Alexander-Barkley ninth (17:16) and Justin Alvarez 10th (17:20).

On the girls side, Benicia cruised to an easy win with 22 points, followed by Vanden with 46, American Canyon with 81 and Fairfield with 93.

Vanden’s Alex Jenks won by more than a minute, crossing in 18:32, with Benicia’s Allie Yip second in 19:41. The Vikings’ other runners were Darrian Serr (seventh, 21:12), Sarah Elliott (13th, 23:40), Breanna Gabriel (15th, 24:41) and Katherine DeOsuna (16, 24:43).

Running for Vanden in the boys frosh/soph race were Taylor Quain, (fourth, 12:15), Jacob Gomez (11th, 13:09), Zach Millard (13th, 13:19), Max Coh (18th,13:56) and Tim Harrell (22nd, 15:29), while Kellie Cutsinger was ninth (15:50) in the girls frosh/soph race.

The SCAC will hold another center meet at Vallejo’s Dan Foley Park on Wednesday.

MEL center meet: At Napa’s Alston Park, Wood won the boys race and Vacaville the girls, with Armijo taking third in both and Rodriguez finishing sixth and fourth, respectively.

The top five for the Armijo boys were Andres Rivera-Cruz (11th, 18:14), Caleb Rounsavall (15th, 18:23), Ryan Cook (23rd, 19:01), Samuel Bundenthal (27th, 19:15) and Cameron Remington (31st, 19:19).

Running for the Rodriguez boys were Anthony Vogliano (19th, 18:45), Marcos Moreno (24th, 19:14), Alex Sakelarios (26th, 19:28), Jesse Jones (44th, 20:41) and Jesse Hale (44th, 20:41).

Wood squeezed its five runners into the top seventh, finishing with 23 points to 47 for runner-up Vacaville. Tyler Sickler of the Wildcats won in 16:11, a personal best on the course. Wood’s other speedsters were A.J. Singh (fourth, 17:11), Jacob Garcia (fifth, 17:27), Ricky Henderson (sixth, 17:49) and Thomas Kirbyson (seventh, 17:55).

Going for the Armijo girls were BreAnna Overman (13th, 22:40), Kirah Overman (14th, 22:41), Elisha Machado (15th, 22:42), Tyra Holt (22nd, 23:30), Tessa Newell (24th, 23:40), Katrina Pangilinan (29th, 24:27), Arrie Cartier (30th, 24:28), Elizabeth Ramirez (31st, 24:55) and Megan Webster (36th, 25:21).

Rodriguez’s Halle Sullivan was fourth in 20:37, followed by Emma Vogliano (18th, 23:04), Eboni Stallworth (21st, 23:19), Makenzie Alspaw (23rd, 23:33) and Karen Hormigas (28th, 24:25).

Amanda Barthelmes was second in 20:28 as the Wildcats finished with 50 points to 46 for winner Vacaville. Wood’s other runners were Victoria Everett (sixth, 20:57), Paige Peck (seventh, 21:05), Katie Tinder (16th, 22:48) and Nina Nguyen (19th, 23:13).

Armijo won the frosh/soph girls race with 37 points, edging Vacaville by one. DaJanae Williams led the way by finishing second (14:08), followed by Soso Amatoru (seventh, 14:41), Annie Ramich (12th, 15:09), Karina Santillan (13th, 15:23),  Jessica Howard (15th, 15:37), Brittany Monk (19th, 16:03), and Amanpreet Kaur (25th, 16:56).

Participating for Rodriguez were Crystal Franco (21st, 16:22), Heighley Doria (24th, 16:53), Kristen Hokr (27th, 17:10) and Liselle Pallacios (28th, 17:53).

Wood’s runners were Victoria Lopez (fifth, 14:30) and Victoria Ton (23rd, 16:34).

Armijo finished second to Vacaville in frosh/soph boys race with Alec Woodson (seventh, 11:33) and Ebon Turner (ninth, 11:40) finishing in the top 10. Others running for the Indians were Mark Go (15th, 11:58), Mauricio Rodriguez (23rd, 12:23), Rohan Saini (27th, 12:40), Jasmine Singh (32nd, 13:03) and  Omar Rodriguez (33rd, 13:03).

Wood’s Scott Dye won in 11:15, followed by teammates Alek Podkin (10th, 11:45), Angel Lopez (18th, 12:17), Logan Chamberlain (21st, 12:39) and Bodhi Drinkard (28th, 12:43).


Daily Republic staff


Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2015 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.