Area prep basketball teams land several all-league honors

By From page B1 | February 19, 2013

FAIRFIELD — The Monticello Empire League and Solano County Athletic Conference held their boys and girls basketball all-league meetings on Monday and city schools pulled down honors like so many rebounds.

Four-year starters Melaya Gaines, Marshanique Hall and Justice Robinson-Kroon of Armijo were named MEL girls co-Players of the Year.

Vanden’s Mariah Williams took home SCAC girls Player of the Year.

On the boys side, Armijo’s Hosea Barfield was selected as MEL Player of the Year.

“I think they’re all deserving, I think (Gaines, Hall and Robinson-Kroon) are the three best players in the league and all the coaches agreed,” said Indians coach Christian Stoll, who was named MEL Coach of the Year for the third straight season.

The trio helped Armijo to a 30-0 record in the MEL over the last three campaigns. “All three have scored over a 1,000 points in their career, all three are in double-figure scoring this year, all three have started for four years,” Stoll said.

Others on the first team are Rodriguez’s Jophiea Irvin, Vacaville’s Capriana Christian, Wood’s Reana Hardin, and Napa’s Madison Van Zandt and Kelsi Maday.

Receiving honorable mention were Armijo’s Daja Daniels, Rodriguez’s Lala Lockett, Raeona Ford, Daraja Carroll, and Briana Hayles, Wood’s Selena Lopez and Vacaville’s Skyler Takeda and Haylie Holbein.

Williams is averaging 11.2 points per game, according to maxpreps.com, one of eight Vikings going for at least 5.3.

The voting “went pretty much how we thought it would go,” said Vanden coach Allison Johnson, a repeat winner as SCAC Coach of the Year. “You never know how it goes in league meetings.”

Williams is joined on the first team by teammates Aleseana Whitney and Toni Taylor. Others on the squad include Fairfield’s Alexis Hines, Benicia’s Nikki Andaya and Adrianna Williams, and Bethel’s Serena Santos and Jayme Slay.

Vanden’s balance showed in its honorable mention selections with Adrianna Jones, Kayla Blair, Kiana Moore, Chantell Greer, Lanissa Belk and Alexandra Bader being selected, as well as Fairfield’s Casara Baugh, RaShana Johnson and Denise Johnson.

Barfield helped the Indians grab a piece of the four-way tie for the MEL boys title and, not surprisingly, Armijo’s Carly Perales, Rodriguez’s Nate Rankin, Wood’s Mark Wudel and Vacaville’s Duane Kamman shared Coach of the Year honors.

Also on the first team are Armijo’s Troy Anderson, Rodriguez’s Johnny Shelton and David Shelton, Wood’s Davis Wade and Jamal Brown, Vacaville’s Dakota Dixon and Vintage’s Conner Bacci.

Garnering honorable mention were Armijo’s Terris Brooks and Tyree Carrie, and Rodriguez’s Justin Idowu, DeShawn Hall, Ronnie Glover, Keanu Williams and Kyle Williams.

Fairfield and Vanden each landed two players on the all-SCAC first team with DeMoriaye Hart-Spikes and Sean Gray making it for the Falcons, Jordan Collier and Brandon Davis for the Indians.

Bethel’s Edward Moore was named Player of the Year with teammates Noah Wellington and Gary Wilson, as well as Benicia’s Koree Cox also making the first team.

Receiving honorable mention were Vanden’s Demaree Walker and Fairfield’s Maurice Trotter, John Jones and Javon Adams.

Bethel’s Dwayne Jones was named Coach of the Year.

Reach Paul Farmer at 425-4646, ext. 264, or [email protected] Follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/pfarmerdr.

Paul Farmer

Paul Farmer is a 1985 graduate of Brigham Young University. The Suisun City resident has been with the Daily Republic Sports Department since 1989 and has served as sports editor since 2007. He and his wife Jackie have four children.

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.