Thursday, April 17, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

What did your Red-Blue America columnists get wrong in 2013?

Every pundit gets something wrong: Your Red-Blue America columnists are no exception. We’ve written about health care, gay rights, religious freedom and every other imaginable topic this year. And since there are two of us, opposing each other most weeks, that doubles the chances of making a bad prediction or offering faulty analysis during the year.

What did we get wrong in 2013? Joel Mathis and Ben Boychuk, the Red-Blue America columnists, cast a wary eye back.

Joel Mathis

The biggest mistake I made as a pundit in 2013? I didn’t give Barack Obama enough credit.

Yes, I’m liberal. But I’m never automatically in the president’s corner. Which is why I made two mistakes in appraising his actions in recent months:

First, I said in September there were “no good options in Syria” for the president to choose from. Turns out my own imagination was far too limited: All I could see then was a choice to commit to war against the Syrian regime for its use of chemical weapons – thus drawing the U.S. into another Middle East quagmire – or to stand down and let the use of such weapons go unpunished.

Turns out there was a third way, which Secretary of State John Kerry stumbled into with an inadvertent press conference suggestion: That Syria turn over its chemical weapons to a third party, but that otherwise the regime would be left unmolested. The solution drove conservatives crazy; they felt Obama squandered U.S. credibility by not attacking. Me? I think he achieved U.S. goals without squandering lives. It was an act of imagination inconceivable under our previous GOP president. I was wrong; the president did well.

Second, I think I conceded too early that “Obamacare” might be failing, and suggested the president might’ve been wiser to pursue “small ball” solutions for liberal priorities.

Yes, the initial launch of the Obamacare website was a disaster. No getting around that. But that disaster has largely been fixed. Lots of people are signing up for health insurance. And yes, some folks have had their policies canceled; in the long term, they’ll be a tiny minority, and this moment of painful transition most likely forgotten.

Turns out that Americans – like the rest of the developed world – want universal health care too. Obamacare is still an awkward, unwieldy way to accomplish that goal. But it appears to be getting accomplished nonetheless.

My mistakes? Born of pessimism. Maybe Barack Obama is a better president than I thought.

Ben Boychuck

Among the worst sins a columnist can commit – apart from deliberate dissembling and outright fabrication, of course – is backpedaling. You stake out an opinion, by golly, you’d better stick to it.

Unless you really stepped in it – then own up and move on.

Prognostication is a sucker’s game, best avoided whenever possible. But sometimes the temptation is too great. When we wrote about President Obama’s folly in Syria, for example, I boldly predicted: “God help us when – not if – China and Russia decide to take advantage of our leaders’ incompetence.”

In the intervening months, China has extended its air defense zone over the East China Sea – a move the United States rightly denounced – and Russia has fortified its sphere of influence by keeping Ukraine out of the European Union. Not a calamity, by any means, but let’s see what 2014 has in store.

Last week, I argued that the disastrous rollout of Obamacare was the most significant political story of the year. This week came word that 1 million Americans have successfully enrolled in a qualifying health insurance plan ahead of the New Year switchover.

A mistake on my part? Only if you missed the related item that 3.5 million people lost their old insurance under the new law and have been unable to find replacement coverage. Maybe 2014 will bring better news.

My greatest regret had less to do with faulty predictions and more to do with a confounding lack of clarity. In November, we wrote about how best to prevent Iran from obtaining nuclear weapons. Practically nobody in the United States wants to go to war with Iran, I wrote.

Seemed clear enough to me. Yet I received a fair amount of reader mail suggesting my point wasn’t clear at all. I soon realized that my statement could be read either as a matter of fact, or as a lament. Readers seemed to think I was upset that practically nobody wants to go to war with Iran.

So let’s clear that one up: going to war with Iran would be a really bad idea. Let’s not do it, and start the new year right.

Ben Boychuk (bboychuk@city-journal.org) is associate editor of the Manhattan Institute’s City Journal. Joel Mathis (joelmmathis@gmail.com) is associate editor for Philadelphia Magazine. Website: www.facebook.com/benandjoel.

Ben Boychuk and Joel Mathis

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

.

Solano News

Supervisor candidates square off at forum

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Carli takes oath, now Vacaville’s 14th police chief

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Huge jump in Solano median home price

By Brad Stanhope | From Page: A1 | Gallery

Solano DA hosts workshop to fight human trafficking

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A3 | Gallery

 
Suisun water rates won’t rise this year

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A3

Kaiser area head Villalobos to leave for SoCal

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A3

 
Donate a car, help build a house

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

Fairfield town hall on crime delayed

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A4

 
Railway museum offers wine-tasting rides

By Adrienne Harris | From Page: A4

 
Travis trustee takes back blast at radio duo

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A4

Drugs topic of cardiac class

By Adrienne Harris | From Page: A4

 
Suisun City police log: April 15, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
Fairfield police log: April 14, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

Suisun Police log: April 14, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
Weather for April 17, 2014

By Daily Republic | From Page: B12

Fairfield police log: April 15, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
.

US / World

Armed robber was never told to report to prison

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
Lost sea lion in California found mile from water

By The Associated Press | From Page: A4

Body of California man who jumped into river found

By The Associated Press | From Page: A4

 
Governor calls special session on rainy day fund

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Seabird from Atlantic spotted on Alcatraz

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Ex-Bell city leader gets 12 years in prison

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

California delays decision on protecting gray wolf

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Court rules for environmentalists in water fight

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

NATO ups military presence amid Russian threat

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Denver police eye 911 response time after killing

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Man charged with marathon hoax is held on bail

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Geneva talks on Ukraine face steep hurdles

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Pro-Russian insurgents seize armored vehicles

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Ferry sinks off South Korea; 6 dead, 290 missing

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

.

Opinion

Parenting demands responsibility

By Ruben Navarrette | From Page: A11

 
Let’s stop Fairfield’s future thugs

By Kelvin Wade | From Page: A11

Obamacare news you probably missed

By Martin Schram | From Page: A11

 
Editorial Cartoons for April 17, 2014

By Kim Durbin | From Page: A11

In support of Pam Bertani

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A11

 
.

Living

A lesson in household budgeting

By Chris Erskine | From Page: A2

 
Today in History for April 17, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

Community Calendar: April 17, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

 
Horoscopes for April 17, 2014

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: A9

 
.

Entertainment

TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
Disney Channel’s ‘Jessie’ breaks romantic ground

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Daniel Radcliffe on why New York audiences rock

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Alicia Silverstone out with book ‘Kind Mama’

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Jenny McCarthy announces engagement on ‘The View’

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Ailing Malcolm Young taking break from AC/DC

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

.

Sports

Crawford’s 41 points leads Warriors over Nuggets

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Vacaville’s Peralta to wrestle at San Francisco State

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B1

Angels beat A’s 5-4 on Iannetta’s HR in 12th

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
MEL, SCAC tangle in hoops all-star games

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B1

Sharks take goalie questions into rematch vs Kings

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

 
Sidney Rice agrees to terms with Seahawks

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Goodwin helps Suns to 104-99 win over Kings in finale

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2 | Gallery

IndyCar driver Saavedra fined $10K

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Sandoval’s single lifts Giants past Dodgers, 2-1

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Officer: Sharper’s DNA found on 1 Arizona victim

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Jets sign former Titans RB Chris Johnson

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Spieth ready for more after Masters success

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Backup QB Matt Flynn returns to Packers

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Atlanta lands MLS expansion team for 2017

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Bucks owner Herb Kohl reaches deal to sell team

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
.

Business

Yellen: Fed stimulus still needed for job market

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4

 
Some exempted from minimum wage, increased or not

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4

Fed survey: Growth picks up across most of US

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

 
Bank of America posts loss, hurt by legal charges

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

IBM posts lower 1Q earnings amid hardware slump

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

 
Google’s 1Q earnings disappoint as ad prices slip

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

.

Obituaries

.

Comics

Dilbert

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Frank and Ernest

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Garfield

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Rose is Rose

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

B.C.

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baby Blues

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Pickles

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Sally Forth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Peanuts

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Wizard of Id

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Beetle Bailey

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
For Better or Worse

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Zits

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Blondie

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Get Fuzzy

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baldo

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Cryptoquote

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Bridge

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Crossword

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Sudoku

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Word Sleuth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9