Friday, March 6, 2015
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

My wife defrauded her siblings out of lawsuit money and I’m conflicted

Dear Annie: Four years ago, my wife, “Joann,” was the executor of her mother’s will. Per instructions, she divided the estate equally with her three siblings. However, a few months later, the estate received an award of $200,000 for a lawsuit her mother had filed 30 years ago. Joann and one of her siblings split the award and did not tell the other two.

Since that time, Joann and I have separated. (She was unfaithful.) What she and her sibling did was dishonest and cheated the other two, both of whom struggle financially. I am still in contact with Joann’s siblings and am fond of them. But my conscience is bothering me.

If I reveal this secret, the entire family will be rocked and Joann may be charged with fraud. While we are not on good terms, I don’t want to send her to prison. What do I do? — Anonymous Husband

Dear Anonymous: Joann is not likely to go to prison, but she could be sued by her siblings and held liable for this money, and such secrets have a way of coming out eventually. You would not be the one rocking the family. That responsibility falls squarely on Joann’s shoulders (and the sibling who shared in the windfall) for defrauding her siblings. Tell Joann that you are planning to inform the other siblings of this money and you are giving her the opportunity to make it right before she is hauled into court. Let her know she can put whatever spin on it she wishes in order to make herself look better. We hope she has sense enough to fix this before it’s too late.

Dear Annie: I am a 40-something professional. Due to illness, accidents and natural causes, I unfortunately have lost all of my family members. Sometimes, it is difficult to cope, but with the help of a wonderful fiance and a few close friends, I have found a way not to dwell on it.

My problem is, I find it difficult to listen to co-workers who do nothing but talk poorly about their relatives and constantly fight with family members over insignificant and unsubstantial things. They bicker about who hosted the last get-together or who said what on Facebook. I wish I could make them see how lucky they are to have family and to make every moment count. I want to scream that I would do anything to have one more phone call with any family member, and I’d gladly host every single celebration just to have them attend.

Is there a polite way to explain to my stubborn co-workers that you can’t count on forever? — Just One More Day

Dear Just: Our deepest condolences on what must be a heartbreaking situation. It’s natural for your co-workers to complain about those with whom they must interact closely and regularly. It doesn’t mean these relatives aren’t loved and appreciated. You could sweetly say, “We shouldn’t take our families for granted. They won’t always be here.” But unless you are prepared to debate the issue and disclose details about your own situation, it is unlikely you will change how they respond.

Dear Annie: I read the letter from “Disappointed Dad,” who was hurt that his son called him “cheap.”

My son is 16 and recently called me a “cheapskate.” I laughed and wore it as a badge of pride. Being a cheapskate has allowed us to live in a nice home, own a vacation property and pay for our children’s private education. I hope I’ve set a good example of being a cheapskate, just like my dad did. God bless his cheapskate soul. He was able to pass on to me a nice amount of money so that I could continue being a cheapskate. — Temperance, Mich.

Annie’s Mailbox is written by Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar, longtime editors of the Ann Landers column. Please email your questions to [email protected], or write to: Annie’s Mailbox, c/o Creators Syndicate, 737 3rd Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254.

Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

.

Solano News

Bay Area Stage readies ‘Mockingbird’ production

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

 
1 hurt as rash of Fairfield shootings continue

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A1

Random thoughts on getting older by Annabelle . . . and Susan

By Susan Winlow | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Work progresses on freeway interchange project

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A1 | Gallery

Solano College grad becomes Marvel superhero

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

 
Caltrans announces planned I-80 closures

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A1

French guitarist brings world music to The Palms

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

 
Let’s take a 2nd look at 1st cars

By Tony Wade | From Page: A2

 
Bike to School Day poster contest begins

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A3

 
Youth talent, scholarship awards dinner set

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A4

Free 8-week Journey Through Grief class set

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A4

 
Audubon Society to hold talk on blackbird decline

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A4

 
Fairfield police log: March 4, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

Suisun City police log: March 4, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
.

US / World

SF hospital performs rare chain kidney swap

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
El niño might not be enough to help Ca drought

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

Covered California down overall but up among youth, minorities

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
App developers take a swing at playgrounds

By The Associated Press | From Page: A4

Supreme Court allows for compassionate release

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Off-duty officer accidentally shoots relative

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5, 1 Comment

Student protests block access to campus

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
GOP legislator enters race for Boxer’s seat

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Japanese tsunami debris washing ashore

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Device in ‘Superbug’ outbreak not approved by FDA

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

States on edge about the future of health insurance markets

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Freight train carrying crude oil derails in Illinois

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Air Force veteran who saved orphans in Korean War dies at 97

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6 | Gallery

 
Homeowners group denies playhouse for cancer-stricken girl

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Report: Suicides by girls and young women continue to climb

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Jurors in Jodi Arias case: We were 11-1 for death penalty

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Experts: Ferguson must move quickly to rebuild public trust

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Plane skids off LaGuardia runway, slams into fence near bay

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7 | Gallery

Father tells jury about boy’s death at Boston Marathon

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Hillary Clinton email trove under review for release

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Attack on US envoy part of S.Korea’s violent protest history

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

 
Last Ebola patient is released in Liberia

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Floods kill 42 people in Tanzania, authorities say

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Death toll in east Ukraine mine blast reaches 33

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Syria says it killed military leader of al-Qaida group

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Iraq says Islamic State militants ‘bulldozed’ ancient site

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Companies form coalition to conserve during drought

By The Associated Press | From Page: A12

 
.

Living

Today in History: March 6, 2015

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

 
Community Calendar: March 6, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

Horoscopes: March 6, 2015

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: A9

 
Should I tell my coworker that her romantic emails are being read at work?

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: A9

.

Entertainment

Week in preview March 6-12, 2015

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

 
Shania Twain to launch final tour in June

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Elizabeth McCracken wins $20,000 short story prize

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Dying wish comes true: Dutch woman with ALS sees Rembrandts

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Announcer Craig Sager returns from leukemia to NBA sideline

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Comedy Central’s ‘Too Many Stars’ means plenty of laughs

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Jaime Camil shines as telenovela star on ‘Jane the Virgin’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Review: ‘Unfinished Business’ should never have started

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

Review: ‘Second Best’ Marigold Hotel lives up to its title

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3 | Gallery

 
Entertainment calendar: March 6, 2015

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B4

 
TVGrid

By Daily Republic | From Page: B6

.

Sports

 
Maddon makes debut with Cubs in spring tie with A’s

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

Hunter Pence breaks arm in Giants’ 8-6 win over Cubs

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
 
Jones-Drew retires, Woodley released by Raiders

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

Veteran defensive tackle Dockett joins 49ers on 2-year deal

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Holmes opens 4-shot PGA lead at Blue Monster

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

Local Report: Labit pitches SCC to win over Folsom Lake

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B8

 
Prosecutors: No criminal charge for NASCAR driver Kurt Busch

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

As NFLPA election looms, Smith hopes to keep ‘boring job’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
Ashley, McConnell lead No. 5 Arizona to 99-60 rout of Cal

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

This date in sports history for March 6, 2015

By The Associated Press | From Page: B9

 
.

Business

Toyota rolls out first mass-market cars to run on hydrogen fuel cells

By The Washington Post | From Page: C1 | Gallery

 
Largest US banks all pass latest round of Fed ‘stress tests’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

Ringling Bros. Circus to give up elephant acts in 3 years

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11 | Gallery

 
Google providing car insurance quotes in latest expansion

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

Can Etsy keep its folksy brand and make shareholders money?

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

 
Applications for US jobless aid inch up to a 10-month high

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

A robust US job market is expected to keep delivering

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

 
.

Obituaries

Michele Jarvis

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Robert Charles Thierry

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A4

Thelma A. Roche

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics

Get Fuzzy

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Garfield

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

B.C.

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Dilbert

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Beetle Bailey

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Pickles

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Rose is Rose

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Sally Forth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Baldo

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Wizard of Id

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

For Better or Worse

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Peanuts

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Blondie

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Frank and Ernest

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Zits

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baby Blues

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Cryptoquote

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Word Sleuth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Bridge

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Crossword

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Sudoku

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9