Friday, February 27, 2015
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Inferno makes drought real in SoCal

navarrette column sig

By
From page A9 | May 18, 2014 |

CARLSBAD — A few days ago, in this beautiful coastal city that my family and I have called home for nine years, I met with someone from the California Water Alliance. Founded by farmers and other agricultural interests in Central California, where I was born and raised, the organization aims to solve what it calls the “water emergency” in the Golden State.

First, it has to find a way to make people in the urban areas – including cities such as Carlsbad and most of San Diego County – care about the drought that has ravaged agriculture in the state. When you live near an ocean, all you see is water. It must be hard for my fellow urban dwellers to understand the dangers of building homes on thousands of acres of dry brush that doubles as kindling.

I think we all understand a little better now.

This week’s outbreak of at least nine devastating brush fires north and east of San Diego scorched nearly 10,000 acres, threatened hundreds of homes, destroyed numerous structures and caused the closure of dozens of schools. The fires also prompted the evacuation of thousands of people, including my family.

I was about 20 miles away from home, dropping my kids off at school in a nearby city, when my wife called. She was getting frantic text messages from friends saying that our neighborhood park – the one about a quarter-mile from our home where I play catch with my son – was on fire. And the flames were spreading fast. I rushed home, listening to the radio for updates. In the distance, I saw a huge plume of black smoke coming from the general direction of my neighborhood.

When I arrived at our house, the evacuation order was already in place, and I had about an hour to pack up the essentials. There are things you need for the next few days as well as the keepsakes that are dear to the family. You do it all as fast as you can, dreading that non-negotiable knock at the door when a sheriff’s deputy orders you to get out.

These moments put things in perspective. You grab documents, family photos, your kids’ favorite toys, computers, some clothes for everyone, your daughter’s journal.

That’s about it. When you’re forced to flee your home, once your loved ones are safe, what’s remarkable is how much you don’t take with you because you don’t care what happens to it. Why do we spend our lives accumulating so much useless stuff?

Then, giving in to professional instincts, I defied my wife’s pleading to leave the neighborhood and instead drove closer to the fire. I grabbed my notebook, and I got within 50 yards of the flames. The air was thick with white ash and toxic black smoke that smelled like nicotine. I saw what looked like an all-out war against a crafty and cruel enemy, with helicopters and airplanes attacking the fire as if it were an invading army.

Neighbors used garden hoses to water down their roofs and backyards. Others jumped out of their cars and surveyed the fire line with binoculars or shot video to track the fire’s progress.

Eventually, the police arrived to start directing traffic and get the spectators out of the way. This was my cue to get started toward my parents’ home 20 minutes away. My wife, who was at work when the fire broke out, would pick up the kids at their school and join us later.

We would spend an anxious night not knowing if we had a home to go back to.

Carlsbad officials said later at a news conference that firefighters were able to save hundreds of homes. Mine was one of them.

Journalism is about gathering information as a dispassionate observer. But there was no way I could do that when staring in the face of a disaster that threatened my family’s home.

Opinion journalism allows for passion. Some of the best I’ve seen came from writers who were emotionally invested in their topics – i.e., columns filed from Boston after last year’s marathon bombing, or from New Orleans in days after Hurricane Katrina.

I was emotionally invested in this story, as were all my neighbors.

A couple of them more than others. Two of our neighbors are firefighters, and I thought how heart-wrenching it must be to report to work to save not just other people’s homes but also your own.

Firefighters are real heroes. I’m getting ready to move my family back into our house. They’re getting ready to battle the next blaze.

Ruben Navarrette is a columnist for U-T San Diego. Reach him at [email protected]

Ruben Navarrette

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • .

    Solano News

     
    Lawyer: Defendant to testify in police shooting case

    By Jess Sullivan | From Page: A1

    Oakland author, vet talks about researching Vietnamese side of war

    By Ian Thompson | From Page: A1 | Gallery

     
    Fairfield mayor ready to share a whale of a tale

    By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

    Nonagenarian recounts life as spy in World War II

    By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

     
     
    Republican women to hear about immigration reform

    By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

     
    2-day event will focus on bullying prevention

    By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

     
    SafeQuest Solano plans garage sale, seeks donations

    By Susan Hiland | From Page: A4

    Kaiser offers Capoot scholarships

    By Bill Hicks | From Page: A4

     
     
    Wolk to chair committee on state’s wine industry

    By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A4

    Suisun City police log: Feb. 25, 2015

    By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

     
    Fairfield police log: Feb. 25, 2015

    By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

    .

    US / World

    Llamas on the loose trends on Twitter

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

     
    Two inured in hazmat explosion

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A4

    No charges yet for train crash truck driver

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A4

     
    After 67 years of marriage, couple dies holding hands

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

    Missing 400-year-old Italian books found in California

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

     
    Sacramento man pressured to remove swastikas

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

    Not guilty plea for suspect in Hollywood exec murder

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

     
    Feds: 3 accused in Islamic State plot vocal about beliefs

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

     
    Vandalism in Arizona shows the Internet’s vulnerability

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

    Prosecutor: Mom craved attention, poisoned child with salt

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

     
    Saudi man convicted of conspiracy in ’98 US embassy bombings

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

    If Supreme Court says no, they’d lose health insurance help

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

     
    Panel: Use new meningitis vaccines only for outbreaks

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

    VA chief backs outside medical care as new program falters

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

     
    House GOP weighs new approach on Homeland Security

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

    Ukraine, rebels start pulling back heavy weapons in the east

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

     
    ‘Jihadi John’ raised in UK, studied computers, reports say

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

    Militants abduct more Christians, smash ancient artifacts

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

     
    .

    Opinion

     
    Greece v. Europe: Too soon to say who won

    By Clive Crook | From Page: A11

     
    Who’s in charge?

    By Bud Stevenson | From Page: A11

    .

    Living

    Today in History: Feb. 27, 2015

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

     
    Community Calendar: Feb. 27, 2015

    By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

    Horoscopes: Feb. 27, 2015

    By Holiday Mathis | From Page: A9

     
    I’m worrie about how my wife’s erratic behavior is affecting our kids

    By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: A9

    .

    Entertainment

    Week in preview Feb. 27-March 5, 2015

    By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

     
    Conan O’Brien takes his show to Cuba for a special hour

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

    Review: Smith, Robbie pour on the charm in sharp ‘Focus’

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

     
    Custom dress Lupita Nyong’o wore at Oscars reported stolen

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

    ABC’s Sawyer does prime-time prison special

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

     
    Q&A: Writer-director-actor Mark Duplass is a busy guy

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

    Actor Will Patton charged with DUI in native South Carolina

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

     
    AP Exclusive: Redmayne lends voice to “Thomas & Friends”

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

    Entertainment Calendar: Feb. 27, 2015

    By Susan Hiland | From Page: B4

     
    Tea Leoni in a happy state as star of ‘Madam Secretary’

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

    TVGrid

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

     
    Graceland brings Elvis back to his Las Vegas home

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

    .

    Sports

     
    A’s begin baseball’s mandatory domestic violence training

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

     
    Earthquakes set to open new MLS stadium

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

    LeBron scores 42, Cavs beat Warriors for 18th win in last 20

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

     
    AP source: 49ers to bid to host college football title game

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

     
    Bulls say Rose to have surgery on Friday

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

    NASCAR back on track for extra day of testing in Atlanta

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

     
    No word on possible MLB discipline for Angels star Hamilton

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

    Giants closer Casilla hit on shin during batting practice

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

     
    LeBron not happy colleges recruiting 10-year-old son

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

    IOC member, once critical of Rio, now sees ‘great progress’

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

     
    Judge rules for Peterson, opening door for reinstatement

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

    Herman survives windy day; McIlroy stumbles at Honda Classic

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

     
    Roberts, NBA writers open discussion over locker room access

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

    IOC relaxes rule on athletes and sponsors during Olympics

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

     
    Nevada gambling regulators sign off on Olympic betting

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

    Video shows Hernandez dancing near gas pump before killing

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

     
    Kings’ Collison to have surgery, re-evaluated in 3-6 weeks

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

    .

    Business

    5 things to know about ‘net neutrality’

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

     
    Regulators approve tougher rules for Internet providers

    By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

    Volkswagen Jetta is a pleasure to live with, not just to gawk at

    By Washington Post | From Page: C1 | Gallery

     
    Strong reliability scores should help Buick brand’s rebirth

    By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

    Nissan executive known as ‘father of the Z’ dies at 105

    By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

     
    Medical marijuana passes tough first hurdle in Utah

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

    Applications for US jobless aid rise to 313,000

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

     
    Google looks for more revenue from ads in Android app store

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

    Walmart CEO wading through mounting issues

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

     
    Pew study: Americans still stressed despite improved economy

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

    Facebook allows users to ‘fill in’ gender option

    By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

     
    .

    Obituaries

    Donald Grimm

    By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

     
    Gabriel T. Traub

    By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

    Maria Kraszewski

    By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

     
    .

    Comics

    Garfield

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    Frank and Ernest

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    Baby Blues

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    B.C.

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    Get Fuzzy

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    Rose is Rose

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    Wizard of Id

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    Zits

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    Blondie

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    Baldo

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    For Better or Worse

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    Sally Forth

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    Dilbert

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    Peanuts

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    Beetle Bailey

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

     
    Pickles

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

    Crossword

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

     
    Cryptoquote

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

    Bridge

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

     
    Word Sleuth

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

    Sudoku

    By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9