Friday, August 29, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Here’s to our ‘tios’ on Father’s Day

navarrette column sig

By
From page A9 | June 15, 2014 |

SAN DIEGO — Father’s Day makes me sentimental. Never mind that the day plays second fiddle to one with a bigger name. Mother’s Day has been an official U.S. holiday since 1914, but Father’s Day has been on the calendar only since 1972.

On previous Father’s Days, I’ve reflected on my own father, who is about to turn 73, and on my becoming a dad. I’ve acknowledged that raising, with my wife, three children under the age of 10 is the most important job we’ll undertake as a couple. Being a dad is also my most humbling gig, since I go around feeling as if I’m always making mistakes.

Yet, this Father’s Day is a somber one, and so my mind is on something else. Or rather someone else. I’m thinking about those family members who step up and make a conscious effort to involve themselves in the life of a child. Even though they don’t have to, and with no one asking them to, they treat that child like one of their own and become an additional father figure.

It’s time to celebrate uncles, especially those who make the strongest impression on their nieces and nephews and impact those lives for the better.

I was blessed to have a few uncles like that. In Spanish, we call them tios. My father had four older brothers, and they were all attentive and supportive of me and my adventures – or, as sometimes was the case, misadventures. But the one who invested the most time and made the strongest impression was my uncle Waldo, who died three months ago. His birthday is the week after Father’s Day, and he would have been 78.

My uncle had two sons. My cousins were close to me in age, and so I was around them a lot growing up. This gave my Uncle Waldo the chance to look out for me, and he did that exceptionally well my entire life. He did whatever he could to make sure that I was happy and successful. He took my cousins and me to movies, arcades and baseball games to watch his favorite team, the San Francisco Giants. His life changed about 35 years ago, when he was hit by a car and paralyzed. But in the decades that followed, I never saw him wallow in pity or fester with anger.

What I saw was that he became even more involved in the lives of the people he cared about, and I was privileged to be among them. We would visit and laugh and talk for hours, as he delighted in relaying to me his strongest memories – both good and bad.

Born in 1936 in Central California, he grew up in an era when discrimination against Mexican-Americans was a fact of life, and opportunities were scarce. Back then, being a success meant landing a job indoors, in a place with air conditioning. Most Mexican-Americans worked in the fields, canneries or packing houses.

One day, while picking cotton with the rest of the family when he was about 15, my uncle got a scolding from my grandfather, who wanted him to be more like those other young people in the fields who were picking much faster. My uncle responded that he didn’t want to excel in that arena but to escape it.

A few years later, he went to work for the state forest service, putting out fires. He got that job when a kindhearted supervisor, an Italian-American, helped him fill out the paperwork because, he told my uncle, “we minorities have to stick together.” Eventually, he worked as an investigator for the county public defender’s office, where he put his Spanish-speaking ability and people skills to work in defense of due process and the rights of the accused.

I like to think he made a difference. But my Uncle Waldo’s greatest legacy is that he was simply a good dad, and a good uncle. That’s enough.

Today, I’m an uncle to six little ones – the sons and daughters of my wife’s sisters. I spend a lot of time trying to take care of them and make sure they don’t miss out on anything. My in-laws sometimes seem mystified, and ask me why I’m doing it.

I don’t have a choice, I tell them. It’s a family tradition. Besides, I had a great role model.

Happy Father’s Day, Tio. And thank you.

Ruben Navarrette is a nationally syndicated columnist with the Washington Post Writers Group. Reach him at ruben@rubennavarrette.com.

Ruben Navarrette

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

.

Solano News

1 critical after 2 shot at Fairfield bus stop

By Jess Sullivan | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Prolific pears rule Courtland area

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A1 | Gallery

Suisun police plan holiday weekend checkpoint

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

 
No plea as Vacaville homicide suspect appears in court

By Jess Sullivan | From Page: A3 | Gallery

Fairfield man faces trial on child sex charges

By Jess Sullivan | From Page: A3

 
Vacaville man convicted of fifth DUI

By Jess Sullivan | From Page: A3

 
Police in Vacaville schedule DUI checkpoint

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A3

 
Accused park shooters set for probable cause hearing

By Jess Sullivan | From Page: A4

Solano continues to deal with earthquake

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A4

 
Bunting earns praise for role in paint case

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A5

 
 
Fairfield police log: Aug. 27, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A8

Suisun City police log: Aug. 27, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A8

 
Weather for Aug. 29, 2014

By Daily Republic | From Page: B14

.

US / World

Mom won’t be charged in school confrontation

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
California Supreme Court pick confirmed

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Assembly approves statewide ban on plastic bags

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5 | Gallery

 
Feds to resume leasing for fracking in California

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

High school buddies followed similar path to jihad

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Drugs killed Oklahoma inmate in troubled execution

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Q&A: Few laws govern children at shooting range

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

 
Gun tourism grows in popularity in recent years

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

Obama sets no timeline for action on immigration

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

 
4 killed in New Mexico crash of medical flight

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

US rebukes Oklahoma for ditching school standards

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

 
Suit claims police brutality at Ferguson protests

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

Flight diverts to Boston over reclined-seat upset

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

 
Testimony wraps up in former Va. governor trial

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

Obama rules out US military action in Ukraine

By The Associated Press | From Page: A9

 
UN Security Council meets on Ukraine crisis

By The Associated Press | From Page: A9

Russian columns enter Ukraine; leader urges calm

By The Associated Press | From Page: A9 | Gallery

 
Attempt to call missing jet may alter search area

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13 | Gallery

Europe seeks role in postwar Gaza

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13 | Gallery

 
UN: Armed group detains 43 peacekeepers in Syria

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13

A look at the Islamic State militants in Syria

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13

 
Jihadists kill dozens of captured Syrian soldiers

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13

UN: Ebola disease caseload could reach 20,000

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13

 
.

Opinion

 
What should the US do about the Islamic State?

By Ben Boychuk and Joel Mathis | From Page: A11

Question of the week: Is US policy on hostages correct?

By Daily Republic | From Page: A11

 
More ways to help stop bullies

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A11

.

Living

.

Entertainment

Review: Ex-007 actor spying again in ‘Nov. Man’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2 | Gallery

 
Review: ‘As Above’ so-so

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Review: The case against binge-watching TV

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3 | Gallery

 
.

Sports

Angels rally in 10th for 4-3 win over Oakland

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Record-setting Petit leads Giants past Rockies 4-1

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7 | Gallery

Prep football preview: Rio Vista looks to get back to playoffs

By Marcus Lomtong | From Page: B7 | Gallery

 
Borland returns pick for TD, 49ers beat Texans

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7 | Gallery

Carr’s 3 TDs lead Raiders past Seahawks 41-31

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
After Rice, NFL increases domestic violence bans

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

USC coach accepts some blame in Shaw situation

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
Williams overcomes 3 early double-faults to win at U.S. Open

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8 | Gallery

Mickelson in a bind with 4 straight playoff events

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
Weakened US team aims for world basketball title

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

Rise in flags makes NFL defenders wary of contact

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
Week Zero prep football capsules

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B9

Local youngster will play baseball on national stage

By Marcus Lomtong | From Page: B9, 1 Comment | Gallery

 
Signups for Friday, Aug. 29, 2014

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B10

Stewart returning to competition after fatal crash

By The Associated Press | From Page: B10 | Gallery

 
Sports on TV/Local sports for Friday, Aug. 29, 2014

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B11

This date in sports history for Friday, Aug. 29, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

 
Power looks for elusive IndyCar title at Fontana

By The Associated Press | From Page: B14

.

Business

M235i revives classic BMW memories

By Ann M. Job | From Page: C1

 
Average US 30-year mortgage rate at 4.1 percent

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

Obama touts revised economic growth numbers

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

 
US economy grew at brisk 4.2 pct. rate in Q2

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

Ukraine conflict weighs on markets; Retailers fall

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

 
Abercrombie name to shrink from clothing

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

Survey: Americans’ pessimism on economy has grown

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

 
Apple to unveil next products at Sept. 9 event

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

.

Obituaries

Frank W. Moy Jr.

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4, 1 Comment

 
Gary Allen Person

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Lois C. Clark

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics