Our view

Cheers, jeers for the week of Aug. 26 through Sept. 1, 2012

By From page A11 | September 01, 2012

Cheers that trustees with the Fairfield-Suisun School District are taking great pains to gather community input on a plan to divide the district into seven voting districts for future elections.

A public forum Wednesday saw sparse attendance. Jeers to that. There’s too much at stake here for community apathy to rule the day.

The board will consider the matter again Sept. 13. Let’s hope for better participation at that session.

Cheers that the vacant Clark Theater in downtown Vacaville may soon have a new owner and could then become a vibrant addition to the local entertainment scene.

The 96-year-old, 600-seat theater is in escrow and would likely require significant renovation to once again become a jewel of the downtown district. At least with a new owner, there’s a chance of that happening.

Cheers to the Solano County Board of Supervisors for honoring recipients and survivors of recipients of the Congressional Gold Medal.

Fairfield residents Henry Maeyama, Teruo Miyagishima and Kazuo Muto received the Gold Medal for serving with the 442 Regimental Combat Team. The teamĀ of Japanese-Americans fought in Europe.

Vacaville resident James Warren and Vallejo resident Edward Woodward received the Gold Medal for serving with the Tuskegee Airmen. The Tuskegee Airmen was the first group of African-American military pilots.

Vallejo resident Luther Hendricks served in the Montford Point Marines, the first group of African-Americans in the Marine Corps. The family of the late Sylvester Hood of Mississippi was present to accept a resolution on his behalf. He was a member of the Montford Point Marines.

Vallejo resident Dye Ogata served with the Military Intelligence Service, which trained Japanese-Americans as linguists and translators. The board also honored the Women Air Force Service Pilots and the Native American Code Talkers. Lt. Col. Jesnine McAnaney and Lt. Col. Ruth Meyer accepted on behalf of the female pilots.

George Washington was the first Congressional Gold Medal recipient, approved by the Continental Congress on March 25, 1776. Later recipients include the Wright Brothers, Winston Churchill, Charles Schulz, Ronald Reagan and Neil Armstrong.

Solano County’s recipients are in fine company.


Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2015 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.