Sunday, September 21, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Travis Air Force Base focus of lobbying effort

Sandy Person

Sandy Person

By
From page A11 | May 21, 2014 |

Members of the Travis Community Consortium recently traveled to Washington, D.C. last month to take our advocacy for Travis Air Force Base to leaders in Congress and the Pentagon.

The significance of Travis cannot be overstated.

Travis contributes more than $1.6 billion annually to our region’s economy. The airmen and civilians employed on base, and their families, are valued members of our communities. It is essential to remain active and engaged in supporting and protecting its mission.

Our advocacy in support of Travis and the Air Force is particularly critical at this time, as shrinking defense budgets trigger difficult choices for the Department of Defense.

We spoke at the Pentagon to senior Air Force leaders about the future of the KC-10, basing for the new KC-46A tanker, the role of Active and Reserve Associations, and the Air Force’s request for another round of Base Realignment and Closure. While there’s little appetite for a Base Realignment and Closure round in the current Congress, the Department of Defense continues to push to reduce the costs associated with running bases, especially in the Air Force, which believes it has excess real estate.

We met with Reps. John Garamendi and Mike Thompson on the second day of our visit, as well as the offices of California’s senators, to update them on key Travis issues and thank them for their continued support and leadership.

The future of the air refueling mission at Travis was at the top of our agenda.

Last fall, the Air Force publicly considered a plan to divest all 59 aircraft in the KC-10 fleet, 27 of which are stationed at Travis. Congress provided some relief from sequestration in the Bipartisan Budget Agreement in December, which allowed the Air Force to hold off on eliminating the KC-10 in this year’s budget. However, the service has said if sequestration is reinstated, the KC-10 could begin to be retired beginning in 2016.

The KC-10 provides tremendous air refueling and transport capability, but the Air Force makes a compelling business case that it is not affordable for the long term. The operating and maintenance costs are high and will only increase as commercial carriers will soon no longer operate the DC-10 airframe, on which the KC-10 is based.

If the Air Force decides the KC-10 is no longer economically viable in the near future, we must be looking to the future now – and that is the KC-46A.

The Air Force is committed to buy 179 KC-46A aircraft by the end of the next decade. The training unit, and first two operating bases for the KC-46A, were selected last year, and we believe Travis has the ideal infrastructure and location to host multiple KC-46A squadrons. The next round of KC-46A basing decisions will be made in the next two years.

Through our advocacy and assistance from our congressional leaders, we believe the base can see a seamless transition from the KC-10 to the KC-46A with minimal fluctuations in manpower. We made that case clearly during our visit and will continue to do so.

As in our previous discussions with senior Air Force leaders, we were repeatedly told that Travis will remain a key and vibrant part of our nation’s defense. With its transport and refueling capability supporting the projection of forces from the West Coast, Travis has long been called the “Gateway to the Pacific.”

The Travis Community Consortium believes that is more than a slogan; we know that Travis is a critical asset to our national security that must be continually protected and enhanced with the new generation of aircraft.

Sandy Person is chairwoman of the Travis Community Consortium and president of the Solano Economic Development Corp. Reach her at sandy@solanoedc.org.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | 2 comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

  • Rich GiddensMay 20, 2014 - 3:15 pm

    I hope Travis closes. You guys stupidly stuck 2 landfills on either end of the runways attracting deadly birds that have caused accidents before! Your unionized labor and high fuel costs run up a big bill. GI's are victimized by both your cop and criminal thug scum. You allowed and continue to allow encroachment on the base and now Solano County is no longer a rural area like it was back in the 1950's. Your horrible State is ground zero for peace protestors and anti-military protests outside the gate. All you care about is the GI's dollar but you care not for the Gi or military retiree! Yes, I hope the US Senate wisely closes Travis and teaches your lousy state a terrible lesson it shall never forget!

    Reply | Report abusive comment
  • JagMay 21, 2014 - 1:58 pm

    Gee Rich tell us how you really feel? I am not sure about all of that but I did live thru the Mari Island closing I seen what it did to Vallejo and I do agree if you want to keep building houses and train stations out that way I agree they will close it,

    Reply | Report abusive comment
.

Solano News

County makes recommendations for crude-by-rail

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A1, 2 Comments | Gallery

 
Hartley House offers look into Vacaville’s past

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: C1 | Gallery

New toilet paper sizes will wipe me out!

By Brad Stanhope | From Page: A2, 5 Comments

 
Coastal Cleanup helps get rid of trash in area

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3, 1 Comment | Gallery

Travis teachers bring creativity to Shakespeare

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A3

 
Olympians to participate in swim Lap-a-Thon

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

Circle of Friends director to speak in Fairfield

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

 
Be alert to stroke warning signs

By Marilyn Ranson | From Page: C4

Recovery community works for lifelong sobriety

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A4 | Gallery

 
Musical merry-go-round at Jazz Festival

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A5 | Gallery

Deadline looms for lobster boil tickets

By Glen Faison | From Page: A5

 
Crashes blocks parts of eastbound I-80 in Fairfield

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A5

 
Seven Artisans opens tasting room

By Barry Eberling | From Page: B7 | Gallery

BABA makes big spash

By Bud Stevenson | From Page: B7

 
Old Kmart site sees signs of new life

By Brian Miller and Karl Dumas | From Page: B8, 12 Comments | Gallery

 
Airmen with local ties finish basic training

By Nick DeCicco | From Page: B10

Fairfield police log: Sept. 19, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
Suisun City police log: Sept. 19, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

.

US / World

Potential push for Obama to expand military effort

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1, 1 Comment

 
Teams assess damage as California wildfire burns

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

McInerney, Duka help Impact beat Earthquakes

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

 
Old pets, new chances: The case for senior adoption

By Mcclatchy-Tribune News Service | From Page: C4

Jailed, some mentally ill inmates land in lockdown

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Custer youngest winner at 16 in NASCAR series

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

Retro-hip barber is growing an ‘empire’ by staying on the cutting edge

By Mcclatchy-Tribune News Service | From Page: C6

 
Tense hunt in trooper ambush case hits 8 days

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Tour ship runs aground by NYC’s Statue of Liberty

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Astronauts getting 3-D printer at space station

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

Chrysler recalling nearly 189,000 SUVs

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10, 1 Comment

 
Fire captain injured in ice bucket challenge dies

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10, 1 Comment

More than 1K people search for missing UVa student

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Second man arrested trying to enter White House

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Pope chooses a moderate for Chicago archbishop

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10, 4 Comments | Gallery

 
Turkish hostages freed, but questions linger

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

Sierra Leone staggers in Ebola isolation effort

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11 | Gallery

 
El-Sissi ready to back anti-IS fight

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11 | Gallery

NATO chief: Ukraine has cease-fire ‘in name only’

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

 
Kurdish fighters head to Syria to face militants

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

Polly Bergen, versatile actress, singer dies at 84

By The Associated Press | From Page: A12

 
.

Opinion

Stores miss bus on public transit

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8, 4 Comments

 
Sunset Animal Hospital is the best

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8

Sound off for Sept. 21, 2014

By Daily Republic | From Page: A8

 
New car’s fuel mileage accuracy put to the test

By Glen Faison | From Page: A8

 
 
Will they ever get the message?

By Rod Keck | From Page: A9, 5 Comments

 
.

Living

Community Calendar: Sept. 21, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

 
Today in History: Sept. 21, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

There is no message of hatred of violence in Christianity

By The Rev. Rick L. Stonestreet | From Page: C3, 7 Comments

 
St. Paul pastor’s pulpit? A food truck

By The Associated Press | From Page: C3 | Gallery

Horoscopes: Sept. 21, 2014

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: C4

 
My child’s father and I worked things out – but now I’m not so sure

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: C4

.

Entertainment

Springsteen picture book out in November

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

 
Erdrich wins lifetime achievement literary prize

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

Designer Donna Karan memoir expected next year

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

 
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BEST-SELLERS

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

Author says Christian novel plagiarized, sex added

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2 | Gallery

 
TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B11

.

Sports

Patriots big favorites vs. Raiders despite mediocre start

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Williams beats A’s for third time with third team

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Cardinals look to shake off distraction vs. 49ers

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Cashner, Padres beat Giants 3-2

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

Prep boys soccer preview: Indians, Vikings off to fast start

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Schumacher, Hagan win rain-delayed Carolina event

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

College football Top 25

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

 
No. 1 Florida St survives against No. 22 Clemson

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3 | Gallery

Sprint car driver killed in Wisconsin

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

 
Vacaville Christian volleyball team falls in playoffs

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B3

Mi Jung Hur, Paula Reto share lead in Alabama

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

 
Stars Recreation results

By Daily Republic | From Page: B4

Estimated 7,000 fans trade in Ray Rice jerseys

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

 
Travis Bowl results

By Daily Republic | From Page: B4

This date in sports history for Sunday, Sept. 21, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

 
Sports on TV for Sunday, Sept. 21, 2014

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B5

Harvick dismisses wins as key to Cup title

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

 
Gaughan snatches Nationwide win at Kentucky

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

.

Business

Extended warranties a big sell. Are they worth it?

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7 | Gallery

 
Recalls this week: fire alarm bases, swings

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

US tobacco growers brace for tougher competition

By The Associated Press | From Page: B12 | Gallery

 
Marijuana industry battling stoner stereotypes

By The Associated Press | From Page: B12 | Gallery

.

Obituaries

George Junior Rhode

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics