Monday, September 1, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Travis Air Force Base focus of lobbying effort

Sandy Person

Sandy Person

By
From page A11 | May 21, 2014 |

Members of the Travis Community Consortium recently traveled to Washington, D.C. last month to take our advocacy for Travis Air Force Base to leaders in Congress and the Pentagon.

The significance of Travis cannot be overstated.

Travis contributes more than $1.6 billion annually to our region’s economy. The airmen and civilians employed on base, and their families, are valued members of our communities. It is essential to remain active and engaged in supporting and protecting its mission.

Our advocacy in support of Travis and the Air Force is particularly critical at this time, as shrinking defense budgets trigger difficult choices for the Department of Defense.

We spoke at the Pentagon to senior Air Force leaders about the future of the KC-10, basing for the new KC-46A tanker, the role of Active and Reserve Associations, and the Air Force’s request for another round of Base Realignment and Closure. While there’s little appetite for a Base Realignment and Closure round in the current Congress, the Department of Defense continues to push to reduce the costs associated with running bases, especially in the Air Force, which believes it has excess real estate.

We met with Reps. John Garamendi and Mike Thompson on the second day of our visit, as well as the offices of California’s senators, to update them on key Travis issues and thank them for their continued support and leadership.

The future of the air refueling mission at Travis was at the top of our agenda.

Last fall, the Air Force publicly considered a plan to divest all 59 aircraft in the KC-10 fleet, 27 of which are stationed at Travis. Congress provided some relief from sequestration in the Bipartisan Budget Agreement in December, which allowed the Air Force to hold off on eliminating the KC-10 in this year’s budget. However, the service has said if sequestration is reinstated, the KC-10 could begin to be retired beginning in 2016.

The KC-10 provides tremendous air refueling and transport capability, but the Air Force makes a compelling business case that it is not affordable for the long term. The operating and maintenance costs are high and will only increase as commercial carriers will soon no longer operate the DC-10 airframe, on which the KC-10 is based.

If the Air Force decides the KC-10 is no longer economically viable in the near future, we must be looking to the future now – and that is the KC-46A.

The Air Force is committed to buy 179 KC-46A aircraft by the end of the next decade. The training unit, and first two operating bases for the KC-46A, were selected last year, and we believe Travis has the ideal infrastructure and location to host multiple KC-46A squadrons. The next round of KC-46A basing decisions will be made in the next two years.

Through our advocacy and assistance from our congressional leaders, we believe the base can see a seamless transition from the KC-10 to the KC-46A with minimal fluctuations in manpower. We made that case clearly during our visit and will continue to do so.

As in our previous discussions with senior Air Force leaders, we were repeatedly told that Travis will remain a key and vibrant part of our nation’s defense. With its transport and refueling capability supporting the projection of forces from the West Coast, Travis has long been called the “Gateway to the Pacific.”

The Travis Community Consortium believes that is more than a slogan; we know that Travis is a critical asset to our national security that must be continually protected and enhanced with the new generation of aircraft.

Sandy Person is chairwoman of the Travis Community Consortium and president of the Solano Economic Development Corp. Reach her at sandy@solanoedc.org.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | 2 comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

  • Rich GiddensMay 20, 2014 - 3:15 pm

    I hope Travis closes. You guys stupidly stuck 2 landfills on either end of the runways attracting deadly birds that have caused accidents before! Your unionized labor and high fuel costs run up a big bill. GI's are victimized by both your cop and criminal thug scum. You allowed and continue to allow encroachment on the base and now Solano County is no longer a rural area like it was back in the 1950's. Your horrible State is ground zero for peace protestors and anti-military protests outside the gate. All you care about is the GI's dollar but you care not for the Gi or military retiree! Yes, I hope the US Senate wisely closes Travis and teaches your lousy state a terrible lesson it shall never forget!

    Reply | Report abusive comment
  • JagMay 21, 2014 - 1:58 pm

    Gee Rich tell us how you really feel? I am not sure about all of that but I did live thru the Mari Island closing I seen what it did to Vallejo and I do agree if you want to keep building houses and train stations out that way I agree they will close it,

    Reply | Report abusive comment
.

Solano News

 
Highway 12 project nears completion

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A1, 2 Comments | Gallery

‘Snail mail’ still kinda cool

By Tony Wade | From Page: A2

 
 
Car club raises funds, supplies for SPCA

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A3

 
Democrats plan candidates meet, greet

By Glen Faison | From Page: A3

Stand Up 2 Cancer Viewing party set in Vacaville

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3

 
Senior center schedules discussion on senior travel

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3

Local government schedule meetings

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3

 
Premier post details of new lease

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A7

 
Il Fiorello to host jazz event

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A7

 
New doctors join NorthBay

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A7

Goodwill opens Outlet Store in Fairfield

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A7, 1 Comment | Gallery

 
Fairfield economic team announces addition

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A7, 4 Comments

Small earthquakes shake Solano

By Glen Faison | From Page: A9

 
.

Opinion

Editorial Cartoon: Sept. 1, 2014

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
 
Whopper of a tax dodge for Burger King

By Mike Kirchubel | From Page: A8, 7 Comments

Is social media enlarging or stifling democracy?

By Cynthia M. Allen | From Page: A8

 
Compromise on Cordelia Road rail crossing costs

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8, 3 Comments

Justice for all

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8, 4 Comments

 
Good job, Susan Winlow

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8, 1 Comment

.

Living

Community Calendar: Sept. 1, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

 
Today in History: Sept. 1, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

Is my husband right when he says men aren’t made for monogamy?

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: B5

 
Horoscopes: Sept. 1, 2014

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: B5

 
Horoscopes: Sept. 2, 2014

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: B7

.

Entertainment

TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A5

 
5 takeaways from a punch-less summer box office

By Jake Coyle | From Page: A11

Joan Rivers’ daughter: I’m keeping fingers crossed

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

 
TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A11

.

Sports

Source: 49ers OL Boone agrees to new 2-yr deal

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

 
49er Ray McDonald accused of domestic violence

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1, 1 Comment | Gallery

Kahne holds off Kenseth to win Atlanta shootout

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

 
Wozniacki outlasts Sharapova, in US Open quarters

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Falcons looking to be defensive

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Otto wins Italian Open; Gallacher comes up short

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Weather for Monday, Sept. 1, 2014

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B2

Henley takes a 1-shot lead at Deutsche Bank

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Dunn dealt to A’s, could be his last shot playoffs

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Fred Couples wins Champions Tour event

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
A’s frustrated after 8-1 loss caps sweep by Angels

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Ernst wins LPGA’s Portland Classic in playoff

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Giants power past Brewers 15-5 for 3-game sweep

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Down at half, US beats Turkey in basketball worlds

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Source: Chiefs’ Smith agrees to 4-yr extension

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Tony Stewart’s return to race track ends early

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Sam clears waivers, meets with Fisher

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

FC Kansas City wins NWSL title over Seattle, 2-1

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Raiders claim DE Mayowa off waivers

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Jensen waived after Jaguars awarded TE Shuler

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
This date in sports history for Monday, Sept. 1, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

 
.

Business

.

Obituaries

Laurie Danielson Bailey

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4, 1 Comment

 
Hazel Gertrude Wamsley

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Jerry Lee Trammell

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4, 6 Comments

 
.

Comics

Pickles Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
Wizard of Id Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

Garfield Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4, 1 Comment

 
Sally Forth Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

For Better or Worse Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
Baby Blues Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

Peanuts Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
Blondie Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

Rose is Rose Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
Baldo Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

Beetle Bailey Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
B.C. Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

Get Fuzzy Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
Frank and Ernest Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

Dilbert Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

 
Zits Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B4

Sudoku Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B5

 
Crossword Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B5

Cryptoquote Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B5

 
Word Sleuth Sept 1

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B5

Get Fuzzy Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
B.C. Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

Baldo Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
Garfield Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

Frank and Ernest Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
Zits Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

Dilbert Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
Wizard of Id Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

For Better or Worse Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
Sally Forth Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

Peanuts Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
Blondie Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

Rose is Rose Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
Cryptoquote Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B7

Sudoku Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B7

 
Bridge Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B7

Word Sleuth Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B7

 
Crossword Sept 2

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B7