Thursday, July 24, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Travis Air Force Base focus of lobbying effort

Sandy Person

Sandy Person

By
From page A11 | May 21, 2014 |

Members of the Travis Community Consortium recently traveled to Washington, D.C. last month to take our advocacy for Travis Air Force Base to leaders in Congress and the Pentagon.

The significance of Travis cannot be overstated.

Travis contributes more than $1.6 billion annually to our region’s economy. The airmen and civilians employed on base, and their families, are valued members of our communities. It is essential to remain active and engaged in supporting and protecting its mission.

Our advocacy in support of Travis and the Air Force is particularly critical at this time, as shrinking defense budgets trigger difficult choices for the Department of Defense.

We spoke at the Pentagon to senior Air Force leaders about the future of the KC-10, basing for the new KC-46A tanker, the role of Active and Reserve Associations, and the Air Force’s request for another round of Base Realignment and Closure. While there’s little appetite for a Base Realignment and Closure round in the current Congress, the Department of Defense continues to push to reduce the costs associated with running bases, especially in the Air Force, which believes it has excess real estate.

We met with Reps. John Garamendi and Mike Thompson on the second day of our visit, as well as the offices of California’s senators, to update them on key Travis issues and thank them for their continued support and leadership.

The future of the air refueling mission at Travis was at the top of our agenda.

Last fall, the Air Force publicly considered a plan to divest all 59 aircraft in the KC-10 fleet, 27 of which are stationed at Travis. Congress provided some relief from sequestration in the Bipartisan Budget Agreement in December, which allowed the Air Force to hold off on eliminating the KC-10 in this year’s budget. However, the service has said if sequestration is reinstated, the KC-10 could begin to be retired beginning in 2016.

The KC-10 provides tremendous air refueling and transport capability, but the Air Force makes a compelling business case that it is not affordable for the long term. The operating and maintenance costs are high and will only increase as commercial carriers will soon no longer operate the DC-10 airframe, on which the KC-10 is based.

If the Air Force decides the KC-10 is no longer economically viable in the near future, we must be looking to the future now – and that is the KC-46A.

The Air Force is committed to buy 179 KC-46A aircraft by the end of the next decade. The training unit, and first two operating bases for the KC-46A, were selected last year, and we believe Travis has the ideal infrastructure and location to host multiple KC-46A squadrons. The next round of KC-46A basing decisions will be made in the next two years.

Through our advocacy and assistance from our congressional leaders, we believe the base can see a seamless transition from the KC-10 to the KC-46A with minimal fluctuations in manpower. We made that case clearly during our visit and will continue to do so.

As in our previous discussions with senior Air Force leaders, we were repeatedly told that Travis will remain a key and vibrant part of our nation’s defense. With its transport and refueling capability supporting the projection of forces from the West Coast, Travis has long been called the “Gateway to the Pacific.”

The Travis Community Consortium believes that is more than a slogan; we know that Travis is a critical asset to our national security that must be continually protected and enhanced with the new generation of aircraft.

Sandy Person is chairwoman of the Travis Community Consortium and president of the Solano Economic Development Corp. Reach her at sandy@solanoedc.org.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | 2 comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

  • Rich GiddensMay 20, 2014 - 3:15 pm

    I hope Travis closes. You guys stupidly stuck 2 landfills on either end of the runways attracting deadly birds that have caused accidents before! Your unionized labor and high fuel costs run up a big bill. GI's are victimized by both your cop and criminal thug scum. You allowed and continue to allow encroachment on the base and now Solano County is no longer a rural area like it was back in the 1950's. Your horrible State is ground zero for peace protestors and anti-military protests outside the gate. All you care about is the GI's dollar but you care not for the Gi or military retiree! Yes, I hope the US Senate wisely closes Travis and teaches your lousy state a terrible lesson it shall never forget!

    Reply | Report abusive comment
  • JagMay 21, 2014 - 1:58 pm

    Gee Rich tell us how you really feel? I am not sure about all of that but I did live thru the Mari Island closing I seen what it did to Vallejo and I do agree if you want to keep building houses and train stations out that way I agree they will close it,

    Reply | Report abusive comment
.

Solano News

 
Artists with trowels transform highway wall

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A1, 4 Comments | Gallery

 
 
County court employees rally against cuts, furloughs

By Jess Sullivan | From Page: A3, 8 Comments | Gallery

 
Crews to begin Vacaville slurry seal street project

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A3

2nd candidate eyes Vacaville mayoral run

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A3, 1 Comment | Gallery

 
Bertani schedules town hall meet

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3, 5 Comments

 
 
Vacaville police arrest fugitive Dezmon Frazier

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A4, 6 Comments

Sesame Street USO tour visits Travis

By Staff Sgt. Christopher Carranza | From Page: A5 | Gallery

 
Fairfield police log: July 22, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A10

Fairfield police log: July 21, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A10

 
Weather for July 24, 2014

By Daily Republic | From Page: B10

Fairfield police log: July 20, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A10

 
Suisun City police log: July 22, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A10

Suisun City police log: July 21, 2013

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A10

 
Suisun City police log: July 20, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A10

.

US / World

Lawsuit tests racial policy at California prisons

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1, 4 Comments

 
Casualty numbers raise questions about Gaza war

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

40 bodies from jet solemnly returned to Dutch soil

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Honduran families deported back to a bleak future

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10, 2 Comments

Lockdown lifted at Little Rock Air Force Base

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
US pushes for truce as Gaza battle rages

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

.

Opinion

 
Watch out for Bobby Jindal

By Jay Ambrose | From Page: A7

 
Rick Perry’s contradiction

By Ruben Navarrette | From Page: A7, 1 Comment

Editorial Cartoons for July 24, 2014

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A7

 
Good men lost due to Bergdahl

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A7, 1 Comment

Is Logue tripping over words?

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A7

 
.

Living

Community Calendar: July 24, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

 
Today in History for July 24, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

I resent my husband for not defending me to his mother

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: A9

 
Horoscopes for July 24, 2014

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: A9

.

Entertainment

CBS event marks civil rights anniversary

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
4-day Comic Con festival kicks off in San Diego

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

Filmmaker Michael Moore’s divorce is finalized

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6, 3 Comments

 
CBS says Colbert keeping CBS’ ‘Late Show’ in NYC

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

.

Sports

Raiders start to arrive for start of camp

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1, 1 Comment

 
Tight end Vernon Davis arrives at 49ers training camp

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

Pence drives in 3, Giants beat Phillies 3-1

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Cespedes hits 2 HRs, A’s hold off Astros 9-7

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

Big innings fuels 16-1 Expos victory in Area 1 opener

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
4 Cities to meet with USOC about 2024

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Testimony ends in trial over $2B Clippers sale

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Playful Pole wins Tour stage, as Nibali marches on

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Mavericks’ Felton pleads guilty in NYC gun case

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4

 
Chiefs, running back Jamaal Charles reach deal

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4

Seattle’s Sidney Rice announces his retirement

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4

 
Broncos owner giving up control due to Alzheimer’s

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4

.

Business

Stopping deadly oil train fires: New rules planned

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
US economy, though sluggish, may now be sturdier

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

GM issues 6 more safety recalls

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
.

Obituaries

Joseph Ross Smith Jr.

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics

TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A5

 
Garfield

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Zits

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baby Blues

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Sally Forth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Rose is Rose

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

B.C.

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Beetle Bailey

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Peanuts

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baldo

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Wizard of Id

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Get Fuzzy

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Blondie

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
For Better or Worse

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Pickles

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Frank and Ernest

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Dilbert

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Word Sleuth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Crossword

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Sudoku

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Bridge

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Cryptoquote

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9