Sunday, April 26, 2015
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Travis Air Force Base focus of lobbying effort

Sandy Person

Sandy Person

By
From page A11 | May 21, 2014 |

Members of the Travis Community Consortium recently traveled to Washington, D.C. last month to take our advocacy for Travis Air Force Base to leaders in Congress and the Pentagon.

The significance of Travis cannot be overstated.

Travis contributes more than $1.6 billion annually to our region’s economy. The airmen and civilians employed on base, and their families, are valued members of our communities. It is essential to remain active and engaged in supporting and protecting its mission.

Our advocacy in support of Travis and the Air Force is particularly critical at this time, as shrinking defense budgets trigger difficult choices for the Department of Defense.

We spoke at the Pentagon to senior Air Force leaders about the future of the KC-10, basing for the new KC-46A tanker, the role of Active and Reserve Associations, and the Air Force’s request for another round of Base Realignment and Closure. While there’s little appetite for a Base Realignment and Closure round in the current Congress, the Department of Defense continues to push to reduce the costs associated with running bases, especially in the Air Force, which believes it has excess real estate.

We met with Reps. John Garamendi and Mike Thompson on the second day of our visit, as well as the offices of California’s senators, to update them on key Travis issues and thank them for their continued support and leadership.

The future of the air refueling mission at Travis was at the top of our agenda.

Last fall, the Air Force publicly considered a plan to divest all 59 aircraft in the KC-10 fleet, 27 of which are stationed at Travis. Congress provided some relief from sequestration in the Bipartisan Budget Agreement in December, which allowed the Air Force to hold off on eliminating the KC-10 in this year’s budget. However, the service has said if sequestration is reinstated, the KC-10 could begin to be retired beginning in 2016.

The KC-10 provides tremendous air refueling and transport capability, but the Air Force makes a compelling business case that it is not affordable for the long term. The operating and maintenance costs are high and will only increase as commercial carriers will soon no longer operate the DC-10 airframe, on which the KC-10 is based.

If the Air Force decides the KC-10 is no longer economically viable in the near future, we must be looking to the future now – and that is the KC-46A.

The Air Force is committed to buy 179 KC-46A aircraft by the end of the next decade. The training unit, and first two operating bases for the KC-46A, were selected last year, and we believe Travis has the ideal infrastructure and location to host multiple KC-46A squadrons. The next round of KC-46A basing decisions will be made in the next two years.

Through our advocacy and assistance from our congressional leaders, we believe the base can see a seamless transition from the KC-10 to the KC-46A with minimal fluctuations in manpower. We made that case clearly during our visit and will continue to do so.

As in our previous discussions with senior Air Force leaders, we were repeatedly told that Travis will remain a key and vibrant part of our nation’s defense. With its transport and refueling capability supporting the projection of forces from the West Coast, Travis has long been called the “Gateway to the Pacific.”

The Travis Community Consortium believes that is more than a slogan; we know that Travis is a critical asset to our national security that must be continually protected and enhanced with the new generation of aircraft.

Sandy Person is chairwoman of the Travis Community Consortium and president of the Solano Economic Development Corp. Reach her at [email protected]

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | 2 comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

  • Rich GiddensMay 20, 2014 - 3:15 pm

    I hope Travis closes. You guys stupidly stuck 2 landfills on either end of the runways attracting deadly birds that have caused accidents before! Your unionized labor and high fuel costs run up a big bill. GI's are victimized by both your cop and criminal thug scum. You allowed and continue to allow encroachment on the base and now Solano County is no longer a rural area like it was back in the 1950's. Your horrible State is ground zero for peace protestors and anti-military protests outside the gate. All you care about is the GI's dollar but you care not for the Gi or military retiree! Yes, I hope the US Senate wisely closes Travis and teaches your lousy state a terrible lesson it shall never forget!

    Reply | Report abusive comment
  • JagMay 21, 2014 - 1:58 pm

    Gee Rich tell us how you really feel? I am not sure about all of that but I did live thru the Mari Island closing I seen what it did to Vallejo and I do agree if you want to keep building houses and train stations out that way I agree they will close it,

    Reply | Report abusive comment
.

Solano News

 
Hard-fought battle ends in victory

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: C1 | Gallery

Children enjoy day of fishing at Fairfield pond

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Solano cities celebrate Earth Day

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Expo shows Kroc Center fun for whole Framily

By Bill Hicks | From Page: A3 | Gallery

 
Suisun police execute tobacco sting

By Bill Hicks | From Page: A4

CHP offers free class for senior drivers

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A4

 
Edibles in your landscape

By Daily Republic | From Page: C4

 
Patrons raise a glass to toast a good cause

By Bill Hicks | From Page: A5 | Gallery

Walk MS hits stride along Suisun waterfront

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A5, 1 Comment | Gallery

 
Covered California offers Solano enrollment events

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A5

Weather for Sunday, April 26, 2015

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B6

 
Pay close attention to investment costs

By Mark Sievers | From Page: B7, 1 Comment

Be wary of next ‘big’ thing

By Bud Stevenson | From Page: B7, 1 Comment

 
.

US / World

With legalization, lawyers turn to business of pot

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1, 3 Comments

 
Remains of dismembered newborn found in South Los Angeles

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Spring storm delivers late rain, snow to Northern California

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Starbucks stores reopen Saturday after computer glitch

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Nearly 17 million watch Jenner interview

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6, 1 Comment

Mother in custody dispute freed after 8 years behind bars

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Italy marks 70th anniversary of anti-Nazi uprising

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
European authorities stop illegal horse meat network

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Italian navy rescues 274 from migrant ship off Libyan coast

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Aden hit by coalition airstrikes amid fierce street battles

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Army shutting down wounded warrior transition care units

By The Associated Press | From Page: B10

 
Warrior pose: Yoga catching on as therapy for veterans’ PTSD

By The Washington Post | From Page: B10

Toll climbs after powerful quake hits Nepal: Things to Know

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

 
.

Opinion

Sound off for April 26, 2015

By Daily Republic | From Page: A8

 
Corruption tarnishes values of our ancestors

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8, 4 Comments

 
Obama sides with enemy

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8, 15 Comments

Who’s asleep at the switch?

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8, 1 Comment

 
How can we give them more?

By Brian Thiemer | From Page: A8, 8 Comments

 
.

Living

Brides show short wedding gowns more of the love

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

 
Community Calendar: April 26, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

Today in history: Sunday, April 26

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

 
Vatican goes on offensive to defend US-Spanish saint

By The Associated Press | From Page: C3

 
You get what you need with Jesus

By Noel Reese | From Page: C3, 4 Comments

How can I trust my husband after he texted a younger woman behind my back?

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: C4

 
Horoscope: April 26, 2015

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: C4

 
Veterinarians are too expensive, and it puts pets at risk

By The Washington Post | From Page: C5

Old standby body-weight training still has moves

By The Washington Post | From Page: C7

 
Milan spiffs up for Expo 2015

By The Associated Press | From Page: C7

.

Entertainment

More copies of Laura Ingalls Wilder memoir being printed

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Amber Tamblyn writes book of poetry about dead actresses

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BEST-SELLERS

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B11

.

Sports

 
Giants beat Rockies 5-4 in 11 innings

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

Warriors complete sweep with 109-98 win over Pelicans

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Athletics drop 3rd straight game, 9-3 to Astros

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Rain postpones NASCAR race at Richmond until Sunday

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Watford back in Premier League after 8-year absence

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Several Kentucky Derby hopefuls get workouts in before rain

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Levy falters at Volvo China Open; 4 tied for lead

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Former Expos executive Jim Fanning dies at 87

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Sandy Lyle, Ian Woosnam team to lead Legends of Golf

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Compton, Day top leaderboard in rain-plagued Zurich Classic

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Suzuki breaks Oh’s record for runs by a Japanese player

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Bulldogs get 10-0 baseball win over Panthers

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B2

 
Canadian teen Henderson has 1-shot lead in LPGA Tour event

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2 | Gallery

Klitschko outpoints Jennings to defend heavyweight titles

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Michael Schumacher’s son makes strong Formula 4 debut

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

US routs Canada 7-2 in semifinal at under-18 hockey worlds

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
A’s place Ben Zobrist on disabled list with knee injury

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

7 players from Royals, White Sox punished by MLB for brawl

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3 | Gallery

 
Grizzlies hold off a late Trail Blazers rally to go up 3-0

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4

Hometown report: Bicycle racing, youth track

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B4

 
Bowling report for April 26, 2015

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B4

Bayless’ layup at buzzer gives Bucks 92-90 win over Bulls

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

 
Nets beat Hawks 91-83, pull within 2-1 in series

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

Sports on TV for Sunday, April 26, 2015

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B5

 
This date in sports history for April 26

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

.

Business

What’s in a hotel name? Guests try to decipher the mystery

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7 | Gallery

 
Veggies take center plate as healthy fast food chains expand

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7, 3 Comments | Gallery

 
Is ice cream safe? Federal health officials say yes

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

Don’t panic, college seniors: Jobs for grads likely to grow

By The Associated Press | From Page: B9 | Gallery

 
.

Obituaries

Reginald Morris Davis

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A4

 
Kirk Noonan

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Nicole Herdia Spann

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics