Friday, December 19, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Summer’s about to take the stage

faison column sig

By
From page A8 | June 16, 2013 |

Things are looking up as spring prepares to give way to summer.

That’s the loose theme of this nuggets column, a compilation of things I found interesting Saturday and decided to share with the rest of you.

Bigger and better

In-Shape Sport on Dover Avenue opened its doors to the community after a massive renovation that added an outdoor pool, completely revamped the interior areas, improved the parking lot and reconfigured the main entrance.

Cost: More than $2 million.

I’ve been an In-Shape member since my youngest child was a wee lass. You may recall that she just graduated from high school. I was also a member of the former Solano Athletic Clubs and my wife Jill was and remains a regular user of the Dover Avenue facility.

She’s watched the renovation from the perspective of a user, and was tickled to see the work completed.

We had the opportunity to visit with Solano Athletic Clubs owners Barry Young and his wife during Saturday’s festivities. They, like us, were pleased to see how much In-Shape has updated the facilities.

The Youngs did much the same thing in the 1990s when they put some $3 million into the place. Barry and his wife made the facility something fresh and new for an entire generation. Now In-Shape has done the same for another generation.

A veritable bounty

Saturday was a banner day for those who enjoy fresh produce.

Larry’s Produce opened for the season, turning up the heat in the fresh fruits and vegetables trade in the Suisun Valley.

It looks like Aliki’s Produce in Vacaville also opened for the season. That’s a boon for the people who live there.

Most importantly, at least for me, one of my wife’s favorite stops during the season, Saechao Family Farm on Rockville Road, offered added bounty to the fresh strawberries we’ve enjoyed for the past several weeks. The stop Saturday yielded fresh blueberries and fresh peaches as well. Bonus!

Don’t forget the weekly farmers markets in both communities: Thursday afternoons in the park grounds just off Jefferson Street in downtown Fairfield, and Saturday mornings in downtown Vacaville.

Cool times

What a difference a week makes.

A week ago Saturday we experienced a record-breaking high of 106 degrees in Fairfield — hotter still in Vacaville. The high Saturday was somewhere in the low 80s. I mowed the lawn and everything, without killing myself in the process.

A very special day

I will indulge myself for a moment since this will see ink on Father’s Day.

The last of my three children just completed high school and now joins her older brother and sister in the adult world. I love them dearly, and will think back on all of the great memories I have of their respective childhoods.

I’ll also call my father, the man who adopted me when I wasn’t much more than a toddler, gave me a new last name, provided me with all the opportunities a child could ask for, and helped shape me into the man I am today.

He and my mother live in Virginia. I suspect they check out my column from time to time on the Daily Republic’s website.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad. I love you.

Reach Glen Faison at 427-6925 or gfaison@dailyrepublic.net. Follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/GlenFaison.

Glen Faison

Glen Faison

Glen Faison joined the Daily Republic as managing editor in September 2009. He previously worked as a reporter and editor for daily and weekly newspapers in the San Joaquin Valley for 20-plus years. His experience includes time as editor of the Golden Eagle, a military paper serving the Lemoore Naval Air Station. He graduated from Fresno State University with a bachelor's degree in journalism and bleeds Bulldogs red. He is an avid Washington Redskins fan, and attended the 1988 NFC Championship Game against the Minnesota Vikings at RFK Stadium. He married his wife, Jill, in 2005, and has three children: Courtni, Tyler and Hayli.
LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

.

Solano News

 
 
Sondheim’s ‘Woods’ holiday showcase for Missouri Street Theatre

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Groundbreakings, ribbon-cuttings play role in civic life

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Frankye Kelly ready to spread holiday cheer

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

Celebrate the magic of Christmas

By Tony Wade | From Page: A2

 
 
Safe streets task force work nets 3

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A3

Santas have busy week at schools

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3

 
Longtime Suisun harbor master to retire

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A4

Mosquito abatement district board has opening

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A4

 
 
Solano College approves officers, meeting schedule

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A4

 
Fairfield police log: Dec. 17, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
Suisun City police log: Dec. 17, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

Police arrest 2nd suspect in Fairfield credit union robbery

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A12 | Gallery

 
.

US / World

Sony hacking fallout puts all companies on alert

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
Sony film took aim at North Korea’s biggest taboo

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

Timeline of the Sony Pictures Entertainment hack

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
Digital dilemma: How will US respond to Sony hack?

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

Rubio, other Congressional Cubans step up Obama criticism

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
Spy’s parents search for son after Cuba-US deal

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

Hope and some fear in Cuba amid thaw with US

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
Next steps on Cuba: Normalizing could take awhile

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

California’s top utility regulator defends record

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
‘Pretty horrible’ scene; car slams into crowd

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

San Francisco Bay Bridge fasteners not in danger of failing

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Police: Drunk man shot while entering wrong house

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

CHP, Oakland in tiff over plainclothes officers at protests

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Local emergencies in Northern California counties after rain

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Tsarnaev appears in court for 1st time since 2013

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
President signs legislation ending Nazi benefit checks

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

2 states challenge Colorado marijuana legalization

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

 
‘Prison Houdini’ set to make his 1st legal escape

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

Top Islamic militants killed; more US troops going to Iraq

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

 
Feds sue NYC over Rikers Island jail violence

By The Associated Press | From Page: A8

Russian sailors leaving France without warship

By The Associated Press | From Page: A9

 
Putin: West wants to defang, declaw Russian bear

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Suspected Islamic extremists kidnap 185 in Nigeria

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13

 
European court rules obesity can be a disability

By The Associated Press | From Page: A13

.

Opinion

 
America’s response to the torture report shameful

By Clive Crook | From Page: A11

Another look at school bonds

By George Guynn Jr. | From Page: A11

 
Editorial Cartoon: Dec. 19, 2014

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A11

News of the day strikes a chord

By Bud Stevenson | From Page: A11

 
.

Living

Today in History: Dec. 19, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

 
Community Calendar: Dec. 19, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

Horoscopes: Dec. 19, 2014

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: D8

 
Should I use Child Protective Services threat to get back rent?

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: D8

.

Entertainment

Week in preview Dec. 19-25, 2014

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

 
Sweet ‘Night at the Museum’ bids farewell to Robin Williams

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Review: ‘The Hobbit’ wraps with a Middle Earth melee

By Jake Coyle | From Page: B2 | Gallery

 
Craig Ferguson to end 10 years as host of ‘Late Late Show’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

Eric Idle brings ‘Not the Messiah’ to Carnegie Hall

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

 
Entertainment calendar Dec. 19, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: B4

.

Sports

 
Warriors beat Thunder 114-109 after Durant injury

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

A’s acquire lefty De La Rosa from Arizona for cash

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Raiders defense depleted by injuries

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

49ers’ Harbaugh mum on reported offer from Michigan

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
49ers’ Aldon Smith hopes to build off tough year

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

A’s trade All-Star catcher Derek Norris to Padres

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Rodriguez boys open Les Curry Tournament with victory

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B8

39 bowl games and a reason to watch every one

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
Column: Thaw in US-Cuba relations warms up MLB

By Jim Litke | From Page: B8

Rivera: Newton ‘probably’ will start vs. Browns

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
Bears bench QB Jay Cutler for Clausen

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

‘Hands Up’ players to attend Ferguson Christmas party

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
Celtics trade Rondo to Mavericks

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

Signups for Friday, Dec. 19, 2014

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B9

 
This date in sports history for Friday, Dec. 19, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

Sports on TV/Local sports for Friday, Dec. 19, 2014

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B11

 
.

Business

Roomiest Subaru Legacy debuts for 2015

By Ann M. Job | From Page: C1

 
Dow industrials have their best day in three years

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

Ford expands drivers air bag recall nationwide

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

 
Constantly changing online prices stump shoppers

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

.

Obituaries

Dominic C. Scolaro

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Ernest “Ernie” Moretti

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Travis Curt Price

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A4

 
Jennie Ponce Reyes

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Patricia “Pat” Anne Stringfield-Pierre

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Lisa Dee McHughes

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

.

Comics