Friday, January 30, 2015
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Solano VA expands outreach, remains one-stop-shop for benefits

puntillo column sig

By
From page A8 | July 19, 2014 |

The Solano County VA is a popular one-stop-shop for advice and information for our veteran community. As the demand for services continues to grow, we’ve expanded our outreach efforts to ensure the high-quality programming reaches veterans looking to gain access.

Our offices filed more than 4,000 claims in 2013. Those claims generated more than $20 million in federal tax dollars to Solano County. That’s money that goes directly into the pockets of our veterans and their families in the form of benefits, programs and services.

We are committed to providing the services veterans have come to expect, including college tuition assistance, outreach to the elderly and widowed, and those looking for benefit assistance when leaving the service.

We are also working to broaden our outreach efforts, including the Missing in America Project, treatment for the incarcerated, and expanding our presence at the Mare Island office with a new, highly qualified volunteer representative.

The following is a description of our new outreach programs. These new and expanded services have already yielded some pretty significant results – directly benefitting veterans and their families living in Solano County.

Missing in America Project

Michael McKay, our Missing in American Project coordinator, is working with the Solano County Coroner’s Office to identify and properly bury the remains of veterans who have served honorably but have not been buried properly until now.

This new outreach program has already identified the remains of 12 local veterans (in the first month) and will properly bury them this fall at the Sacramento Valley National Cemetery in Dixon.

Incarcerated veterans

We realize many of our incarcerated veterans have physical and/or mental health issues, and will likely need assistance once they are released. As a response, our office started reaching out to the jail system, working with the courts, the District Attorney’s Office, the Public Defender’s Office and Sheriff’s Office to try to get veterans out of custody and into treatment programs.

Treatment is a recipe for success and saves taxpayer dollars while helping reduce recidivism rates among this special population who served our country honorably at one time.

Services provided at Mare Island

Cheryl Cook volunteers her time two half-days a week at a satellite office in Vallejo, helping veterans gain access to VA benefits and services at Mare Island.

Having another person at our VA extension, especially one with more than 20 years of running the County VA in San Francisco, significantly increases the number of veterans we can see in any given year.

In addition to our expanded outreach efforts, we remain committed to providing veterans with the services they have come to expect, including the following programs:

Tuition assistance for students

Our office processes between 1,500 and 2,000 college fee waivers every year as part of the College Fee Waiver Program. This program gives veterans and their children the opportunity to attend any public institution of higher learning with most (or all) of their tuition waived, saving veterans and their families tens of thousands of dollars over the life of the dependent’s college career.

The elderly and widowed

One of our primary target audiences is the elderly and widowed. We conduct weekly outreach efforts to inform these groups of programs and services that may not be well known but have substantial benefits.

One such program is the Veterans Pension with Aid and Attendance program, designed for wartime veterans who have low incomes and cannot care for themselves.

Our office works with this population, reaching out to care facilities throughout Solano County, ensuring all veteran clients that want it, have access to these pension benefit programs.

Veterans seeking benefits after discharge

We spend a good deal of time working to connect veterans to the benefits they have rightfully earned by serving our country. Most of these benefits involve injuries and conditions that stared while in the service.

Bill Alcares, our senior veteran’s representative, is at Travis Air Force Base three days a week at the Airmen and Family Readiness Center to help discharging veterans file claims – even before they leave the service.

At the Solano County VA, we encourage all veterans and their families to take advantage of our services. If you have any questions about the programs and services mentioned in this column, give us a call or stop by our offices. We are open 9 a.m. to noon and 1 to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and look forward to helping you soon.

Ted Puntillo is director of Veteran Services for Solano County. Reach him at 784-6590 or [email protected]

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | 1 comment

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

.

Solano News

Solano summit focuses on ways to end poverty

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Fraud among challenges immigrants face, Fairfield panelists say

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Teens earn right to perform with symphony

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
From classical to Queen: Chamber Players are ready

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Photographer has a passion for color

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Cadets learn skills for future careers

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3

 
Girls on the Run expands, seeks volunteers

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A3

 
Sports aircraft company CEO recalls effort to locate in Solano

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A4 | Gallery

 
‘Souper Bowl’ coming to Solano County

By Bill Hicks | From Page: A4

 
SolTrans announces changes to bus routes

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A5

Fairfield police log: Jan. 28, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
Suisun City police log: Jan. 28, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

.

US / World

California’s snow survey shows far less snow than last month

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
State to move more than 2,000 inmates

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Boy Scouts reaches settlement in sex abuse case

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Doctors starting to shy away from non-vaccine advocates

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Protestors shun sister-city relationship

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
City event criticized for Mexican mafia connection

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Tech advances lower chance that driver will die in car crash

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Police: Family killed man over child custody dispute

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Killer says his ideas influenced family suicide

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
NASA astronaut memorial stirs memories for shuttle veteran

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

‘Anonymized’ credit card data not so anonymous, study shows

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Poll shows giant gap between what public, scientists think

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Fort Hood gunman Hasan says he wants to keep top lawyer

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Attorney General nominee wins GOP endorsements

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Families plead for lives of IS hostages as swap hopes fade

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Ukraine: Russia-backed rebels overrun another town in east

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Simultaneous attacks in Egypt’s Sinai kill 26

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Indonesian investigators: Crashed AirAsia flown by co-pilot

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

Gas blast at Mexico children’s hospital, at least 2 dead

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

 
Deadly San Francisco blaze spurs look at fire alarms

By T. Burt McNaughton | From Page: A12 | Gallery

California meets judges’ prison crowding goal 1 year early

By The Associated Press | From Page: A12

 
.

Opinion

Editorial Cartoon: Jan. 30, 2015

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Root of US political paralysis: Intolerance

By Clive Crook | From Page: A11

 
Left’s missteps show themselves – given time

By Bud Stevenson | From Page: A11

 
.

Living

Today in History: Jan. 30, 2015

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

 
Community Calendar: Jan. 30, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

My cousin’s 14-year-old son sleeps in the same bed as his grandma

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: A9

 
Horoscopes: Jan. 30, 2015

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: A9

.

Entertainment

Week in preview Jan. 30 through Feb. 5, 2015

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

 
Justin Bieber apologizes for bad behavior in online video

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Musician Geezer Butler arrested in Death Valley altercation

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Lil Wayne sues mentor’s record label for $51M, seeking split

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Jim Parsons to play God in Broadway’s ‘An Act of God’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Lady Gaga, Ariana Grande to pay tribute to Stevie Wonder

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Review: A tired gimmick weakens thriller ‘Project Almanac’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
‘The Thorn Birds’ author Colleen McCullough dies at age 77

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Hilary Duff, George Lopez help in search for stolen dog

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
 
Bernie Mac widow drops malpractice lawsuit against doctor

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

Entertainment Calendar: Jan. 30, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: B4

 
Desert stars: Celebs converge on Phoenix for Super Bowl 49

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

 
.

Sports

Serena aims for 19th major in Aussie final vs. Sharapova

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Marshawn Lynch talks about why he doesn’t talk to the media

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Vanden boys pull away from feisty Fairfield 86-66

By Brian Arnold | From Page: B7

Gronkowski and Chancellor make for must-see Super Bowl matchup

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
This date in sports history for Jan. 30, 2015

By The Associated Press | From Page: B9

 
Signups for Friday, Jan. 30, 2015

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B9

.

Business

Chevrolet polishes its mid-size truck

By Ann M. Job | From Page: C1 | Gallery

 
Prospect of Chinese cars in US still remain years away

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

Obama seeks spending spike for defense, domestic

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

 
Who wants a bite of Hershey…jerky?

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

Senate passes Keystone XL bill, battles loom

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

 
McDonald’s under siege as new CEO steps in

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

.

Obituaries

Anthony Neal Hunley

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Joseph Phillip Raiff

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4, 3 Comments

Frank Z. Perez

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Dzhon Athanc

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Gloria Elizabeth Neal

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics

Zits

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
B.C.

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

For Better or Worse

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Blondie

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Garfield

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baby Blues

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Wizard of Id

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Beetle Bailey

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Pickles

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baldo

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Rose is Rose

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Sally Forth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Peanuts

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Get Fuzzy

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Dilbert

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Frank and Ernest

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Bridge

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Cryptoquote

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Sudoku

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Word Sleuth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Crossword

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9