Friday, January 30, 2015
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Keep value of cellphones in proper perspective

james column sig

By
From page A8 | July 20, 2014 |

Can anyone imagine getting through a single day without a cellphone? Especially now, because cellphone technology has advanced so far that it reaches nearly everywhere into our lives.

I’m one of the few among family and friends who has decided to ignore the trend to purchase a smartphone. Oh, I still have a cell, but I use it exclusively for talking (no texting allowed) and certainly no applications that allow me to navigate the world via the cellphone.

If I were still in the newspaper business, I am sure I would have made the transition to smartphones that would allow me to communicate in many fashions besides voice. It has almost become essential to have the ability to communicate on several platforms when conducting business.

My wife invested in a smartphone a couple of years ago, after I retired. It seemed frugal to pay for only one smartphone since we spent so much of our retired lives together. Besides, I’m not sure I’m smart enough for a smartphone. But it is nice to have the ability to use many of the mobile applications while traveling around the West.

Just a few days ago we were able to reset the thermostat in our home using the phone before arriving home after a visit out of state. What a joy it was to have a comfortable temperature inside while the mercury was touching the century mark outside. A few years ago, we would have arrived home and waited hours after manually resetting the thermostat for the temperature to reach acceptable levels.

We also were able to check for the best gasoline prices along the way using one of her mobile applications. And, we always seem to seek the answer to some trivia question along the way, especially during one of our eight-hour trips.

One of her favorite apps is “tango,” where she is able to have a video uplink via the phone to see and talk to our youngest grandkids in Washington state. There are definite advantages to smartphone technology.

But for some, cellphones have become almost obsessive. I’m blown away at the number of motorists who talk or text while driving despite laws that prohibit it. One almost clipped me on the freeway in Boise earlier this week on my way home from a doctor’s appointment. The young woman had no clue I was in the lane as she made a sudden maneuver while talking. We nearly had an unwanted entanglement.

I’m also amazed at the rudeness of people out together in malls and restaurants where they are busy texting rather than carrying on conversations with one another. Why even be there in pairs if their interests rest somewhere else?

With so much personal information now stored on cellphones and the obsessive need to use these modern conveniences throughout the day, it’s no wonder owners have become overly attached to them.

Some recent news accounts make that tragically clear.

A 15-year-old Santa Ana girl was killed earlier this month when a thief stole her cellphone as she and her 7-year-old sister were walking home. Rubi Rubio decided to chase the thief, who jumped into a car and sped away. The girl latched onto the back of the car, but fell off, sustaining fatal injuries when the driver swerved to shake her from the getaway car.

Closer to home, a 14-year-old Martinez girl, Jenna Betti, was killed in March as she tried to retrieve her cellphone from railroad tracks in Martinez in front of an oncoming freight train. She could not move quickly enough and the train sucked her into its path, killing her.

Two people died back in January as they jumped over a fence and broke through ice in the Chicago River trying to retrieve a cellphone.

An even uglier tragedy occurred in China last month when a man and his mother both died from injuries after jumping into a cesspool trying to retrieve an expensive cellphone the man had just purchased as a gift for his wife.

Six people in all jumped into the pool of human waste trying to save the man and his mother. All were alive when pulled from the pool, but the two who initially jumped in died later.

These tragic stories during the past few months speak primarily to accidents that occur trying to retrieve cellphones. There were 3.1 million cellphones stolen in the U.S. last year, and a greater number of victims, like Rubi Rubio, are paying a supreme sacrifice.

While we all should be overjoyed with the versatility and the utility of our cellphones, we still need to put things into perspective. Cellphones, no matter how smart they are, should not cause us to make stupid decisions when confronting their potential loss, either due to accidents or theft.

Cellphones can be replaced. Lives cannot.

Bill James is a former editor and publisher of the Daily Republic, now living in Meridian, Idaho, a suburb of Boise.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

.

Solano News

From classical to Queen: Chamber Players are ready

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Photographer has a passion for color

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Solano summit focuses on ways to end poverty

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Fraud among challenges immigrants face, Fairfield panelists say

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Teens earn right to perform with symphony

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
 
Cadets learn skills for future careers

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3

Girls on the Run expands, seeks volunteers

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A3

 
‘Souper Bowl’ coming to Solano County

By Bill Hicks | From Page: A4

 
Sports aircraft company CEO recalls effort to locate in Solano

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A4 | Gallery

 
SolTrans announces changes to bus routes

By Kevin W. Green | From Page: A5

Fairfield police log: Jan. 28, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
Suisun City police log: Jan. 28, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

.

US / World

California’s snow survey shows far less snow than last month

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
City event criticized for Mexican mafia connection

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

State to move more than 2,000 inmates

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Boy Scouts reaches settlement in sex abuse case

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Doctors starting to shy away from non-vaccine advocates

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Protestors shun sister-city relationship

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Tech advances lower chance that driver will die in car crash

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Poll shows giant gap between what public, scientists think

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Fort Hood gunman Hasan says he wants to keep top lawyer

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Attorney General nominee wins GOP endorsements

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Police: Family killed man over child custody dispute

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Killer says his ideas influenced family suicide

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

NASA astronaut memorial stirs memories for shuttle veteran

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
‘Anonymized’ credit card data not so anonymous, study shows

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Ukraine: Russia-backed rebels overrun another town in east

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Simultaneous attacks in Egypt’s Sinai kill 26

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Indonesian investigators: Crashed AirAsia flown by co-pilot

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

 
Gas blast at Mexico children’s hospital, at least 2 dead

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

Families plead for lives of IS hostages as swap hopes fade

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Deadly San Francisco blaze spurs look at fire alarms

By T. Burt McNaughton | From Page: A12 | Gallery

California meets judges’ prison crowding goal 1 year early

By The Associated Press | From Page: A12

 
.

Opinion

Editorial Cartoon: Jan. 30, 2015

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Root of US political paralysis: Intolerance

By Clive Crook | From Page: A11

 
Left’s missteps show themselves – given time

By Bud Stevenson | From Page: A11

 
.

Living

Today in History: Jan. 30, 2015

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

 
Community Calendar: Jan. 30, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

My cousin’s 14-year-old son sleeps in the same bed as his grandma

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: A9

 
Horoscopes: Jan. 30, 2015

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: A9

.

Entertainment

Week in preview Jan. 30 through Feb. 5, 2015

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: B1

 
‘The Thorn Birds’ author Colleen McCullough dies at age 77

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Hilary Duff, George Lopez help in search for stolen dog

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Justin Bieber apologizes for bad behavior in online video

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Musician Geezer Butler arrested in Death Valley altercation

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Lil Wayne sues mentor’s record label for $51M, seeking split

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Jim Parsons to play God in Broadway’s ‘An Act of God’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Lady Gaga, Ariana Grande to pay tribute to Stevie Wonder

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Review: A tired gimmick weakens thriller ‘Project Almanac’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
 
Bernie Mac widow drops malpractice lawsuit against doctor

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

Entertainment Calendar: Jan. 30, 2015

By Susan Hiland | From Page: B4

 
TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B6

Desert stars: Celebs converge on Phoenix for Super Bowl 49

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

 
.

Sports

Marshawn Lynch talks about why he doesn’t talk to the media

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Vanden boys pull away from feisty Fairfield 86-66

By Brian Arnold | From Page: B7

 
Serena aims for 19th major in Aussie final vs. Sharapova

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

Gronkowski and Chancellor make for must-see Super Bowl matchup

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

 
This date in sports history for Jan. 30, 2015

By The Associated Press | From Page: B9

Signups for Friday, Jan. 30, 2015

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B9

 
.

Business

Chevrolet polishes its mid-size truck

By Ann M. Job | From Page: C1 | Gallery

 
Prospect of Chinese cars in US still remain years away

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

Senate passes Keystone XL bill, battles loom

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

 
McDonald’s under siege as new CEO steps in

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

Obama seeks spending spike for defense, domestic

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

 
Who wants a bite of Hershey…jerky?

By The Associated Press | From Page: B11

.

Obituaries

Anthony Neal Hunley

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Joseph Phillip Raiff

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4, 3 Comments

Frank Z. Perez

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Dzhon Athanc

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Gloria Elizabeth Neal

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics

Pickles

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baldo

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Rose is Rose

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Sally Forth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Peanuts

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Get Fuzzy

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Dilbert

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Frank and Ernest

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Zits

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
B.C.

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

For Better or Worse

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Blondie

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Garfield

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baby Blues

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Wizard of Id

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Beetle Bailey

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Crossword

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Bridge

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Cryptoquote

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Sudoku

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Word Sleuth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9