Thursday, October 23, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

Holiday trip prompts trip down memory lane

faison column sig

By
From page A8 | January 05, 2014 |

It’s funny sometimes how the mind works.

The youngest child graduated from high school in May 2013. My parents, who live in Virginia, came to California to witness the educational milestone. It was their first trip to California since Jill and I got married in July 2005. My parents determined then that they would fly everyone back to Virginia to see them. The first to take up the offer was the youngest child, who flew there with her boyfriend on the redeye on Christmas Day. The return journey was Saturday.

The youngest child’s first cross-country flights were also to visit my parents, only she was an infant at the time.

Things went well on the flight from California to Virginia. The visit itself was hectic, what with three young children in tow. There were the obligatory visits with family – those beyond my parents – to introduce all the kids to the East Coast clan. I have what’s now a treasured photo of my Bema – my mother’s mother – sitting in a chair, holding the baby on her lap and leaning over to “chat” with her.

Bema is an interesting side note. Her name was Amy and her daughter’s name is Amy. My mother’s middle name is Jefferson (a family name. It’s a Southern thing), so in my family, my grandmother was known as Amy and my mother is known as Jeff. They also went by Big Amy and Little Amy in certain circles.

I didn’t understand the Amy and Jeff thing as a young child, but I got the concept that my grandmother was my big mom. I just couldn’t say it. Thus, Bema. The name stuck until the day she died. My mom and I still refer to her as Bema when we talk about her.

Back to the youngest child and that first family trip.

The flight from Virginia to California was every parent’s nightmare. It was also the nightmare of just about everyone else on the flight. We were seated in the back row of the plane. The youngest – you should know she was born four weeks early, pretty tiny at birth and was barely a normal newborn’s size at this point (we had her pediatrician’s blessing for the trip) – became violently ill maybe a third of the way into the nonstop flight from Dulles International Airport outside the nation’s capital to San Francisco International Airport.

There was screaming. There was projectile vomiting. She couldn’t keep anything down, fluids included. Dehydration was a real concern, beyond whatever was making her ill.

Members of the flight crew were great. They got word to the captain about the severity of the situation. At some point a decision was made to push through to San Francisco – and I mean push through.

We learned later that the captain got air traffic cleared ahead of us and pushed the jetliner at top speed for the final third of the flight. We landed something like 40 minutes ahead of our scheduled arrival time. Paramedics met the plane – as I recall, before it docked at the gate. The flight crew kept all the passengers seated so the paramedics could get the youngest child and take her off the plane, to the waiting ambulance and on to Oakland Children’s Hospital.

I corralled the other two children and made my way to the hospital in our car.

That was an experience. There were no iPhones then to provide turn-by-turn directions from the airport to the hospital: I had to find my way there the old-school way.

Turns out she was fine. It was some stomach something or other. The doctors gave her IV fluids and watched her for a few hours, then sent us on our way – for the four-hour drive home.

The technology that was lacking then allowed me to track Saturday’s flights on my cellphone. I was at work late Friday night, in part due to the homicide at Parkway Gardens, so was awake at 3 a.m. California time when she was heading to the airport in Richmond. I sent her a text message to wish her a safe flight, having just finished an awesome dinner that Jill left for me to reheat. I then did some editing, cleaned out my work email (that’s a whole column in itself) and unwound from the day as the caffeine from the three large iced teas I drank over the course of the night worked through my system.

I tracked the California-bound journey on my phone, first from Richmond to Atlanta – where it was clear they had to sprint from gate to gate to make the connecting flight (a fact later confirmed via text message) – and then into the air for the Atlanta to Sacramento run. Then I went to bed. I was awake a few hours later and the flight was nearly complete. I tracked it until the plane landed – a few minutes late – just after noon.

With that came in inward sigh, a flood of memories and then . . . this column.

Reach Managing Editor Glen Faison at 427-6925 or gfaison@dailyrepublic.net. Follow him in Twitter at www.twitter.com/GlenFaison.

Glen Faison

Glen Faison

Glen Faison joined the Daily Republic as managing editor in September 2009. He has worked as a reporter and editor for daily and weekly newspapers in the San Joaquin Valley for 20-plus years. His experience includes time as editor of the Golden Eagle, a military paper serving the Lemoore Naval Air Station. He graduated from Fresno State University with a bachelor's degree in journalism and bleeds Bulldogs red. He is an avid Washington Redskins fan, and attended the 1988 NFC Championship Game against the Minnesota Vikings at RFK Stadium. He married his wife, Jill, in 2005, and has three children: Courtni, Tyler and Hayli.
LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

.

Solano News

Suisun City streets: Better than Vallejo, worse than Dixon

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
Children run for the sake of running

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A1 | Gallery

 
60th Air Mobility Wing gets outstanding unit award

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A3

Real McCoy ferry to shut down Thursday

By Ian Thompson | From Page: A3

 
Nairobi, oldest giraffe at Six Flags, dies

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3 | Gallery

Day of Remembrance focuses on domestic violence prevention

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3 | Gallery

 
 
Audubon group to offer wetlands walk, bird workshop

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A4

 
 
Trailer rolls, knocks down pole, damages roadway

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A4

 
Bridge to Life gets extension for temporary kitchen

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A5

Pumpkin bob set at Fairfield city pool

By Ryan McCarthy | From Page: A5

 
Fairfield police log: Oct. 21, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

Suisun City police log: Oct. 21, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
.

US / World

Canada’s PM says shooting rampage was terrorism

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
Healdsburg bans tobacco sales to anyone under 21

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Davis votes to return armored vehicle

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Study looks at lane splitting in California

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

125 San Francisco inmates to get computer tablets

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
California malpractice cap generates big spending

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

Huge gold nugget going up for sale in California

By The Associated Press | From Page: A5

 
Methodist panel hears appeal over gay wedding

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

AP-GfK Poll: Public wants tighter Ebola screening

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Key features of rigorous new US Ebola monitoring

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

Goofy dinosaur blends Barney and Jar Jar Binks

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Social Security benefits get another tiny increase

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

US to track everyone coming from Ebola nations

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Teens’ travel renews concerns about terror appeal

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

Blackwater guards found guilty in Iraq shootings

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Analysis: Fowle was North Korea’s easiest US case

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

UK man faked coma for 2 years to avoid court

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Missile, fire from Egypt wounds 2 Israeli troops

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Mexico: Mayor linked to deadly attack on students

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Nigeria truce is shaky, no news of abducted girls

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Iraqi Kurdish lawmakers OK fighters for Syria

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Prisons agree to end race policy

By The Associated Press | From Page: A12

.

Opinion

Living a Democrat PC nightmare

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A11

 
Real reason to vote yes on 46

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A11

Keck did good job researching issue

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A11

 
.

Living

.

Entertainment

‘SNL’ adds black woman to cast from writers room

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
.

Sports

AP source: Goodell told to testify in Rice appeal

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Kings measuring success on ‘wins and losses’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

Giants’ bullpen melts down in 7-2 loss to Royals

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

 
Warriors hoping Kerr is final piece for title run

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Local Report: Armijo XC teams finish MEL 10-0

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B1

 
Carr confident despite Raiders’ winless start

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Phony World Series tickets, merchandise seized

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Request denied to remove judge on Peterson case

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Probe: UNC academic fraud was ‘shadow curriculum’

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
World Series rating for opener drops to low

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Beaten Giants fan shows significant progress

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Polian, Wolf nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Slumping Bears hope to slow No. 6 Oregon, Mariota

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Stanford picked to win Pac-12 regular-season crown

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

NBA owners fail to pass lottery reform

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

 
Leafs-Senators game postponed after shootings

By The Associated Press | From Page: B2

Brad Keselowski not concerned with popularity

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3 | Gallery

 
SHR swaps crews for Danica Patrick and Kurt Busch

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3 | Gallery

From Mexico to the World Series, Petit Giants’ shines

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

 
’85 World Series Royals relishing playoff run

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

This date in sports history for Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

 
.

Business

FedEx, UPS make plans for a better holiday season

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

 
The top 20 US cities for tech startup funding

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

‘Silicon Beach’ brings tech boom to Los Angeles

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6

 
Google unveils app for managing Gmail inboxes

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

Government ups air bag warning to 7.8M vehicles

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
Camel maker Reynolds snuffs out workplace smoking

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

BofA to refund Apple Pay customers charged twice

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7

 
.

Obituaries

Mark Dean Lindsay

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Keith Bowen

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

Blanche Stevens

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
Dr. Robert M. Takamoto

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

.

Comics

Zits

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baldo

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Beetle Bailey

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Dilbert

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Peanuts

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Frank and Ernest

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Rose is Rose

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Baby Blues

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Garfield

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
For Better or Worse

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Pickles

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Wizard of Id

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

Sally Forth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A8

 
Crossword

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

Sudoku

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9

 
Word Sleuth

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: A9