Sunday, September 21, 2014
FAIRFIELD-SUISUN, CALIFORNIA
99 CENTS

1 bad decision can ruin a teen’s life

wade kelvin column sig copy

By
From page A11 | March 13, 2014 |

Sometime during the late 1980s in another city late at night, I was cruising in the passenger seat of my friend “Herbie’s” car. Another friend, “Dennis,” was in the back.

Herbie asked Dennis to pass him a brick from the back seat. I don’t know why he had a brick in the back of his car but Dennis passed the brick to me and I gave it to Herbie. Without missing a beat, Herbie hurled the brick out of his window and it smashed the front glass of a closed business. We sped away.

I think about that incident with the brick when I see groups of young people arrested for crimes like the youngsters that robbed Travis Dairy and killed the owner, or the four people recently arrested in the death of Naomy Rojas.

A parent’s biggest nightmare is something bad happening to their child. A close second is finding out that your child has done something horrible. It’s tragic when your teen goes along with a group and throws his or her life away.

That incident with the brick illustrates how easy it is to get into trouble with a group of people.

We’d been drinking earlier and were driving looking for something to do. When the driver asked for the brick, I didn’t know what he planned to do with it. But that wouldn’t stop me from being culpable if we’d been caught. That’s the danger when you’re out with a group doing dirt. You may not know that someone in your group is about to vandalize property, rob someone or even shoot someone. It can happen in the blink of an eye.

In those instances, you’re not innocent. I wasn’t innocent.

What if that wasn’t a brick the driver asked Dennis for? What if he asked us to hand him a gun? Would I hand it to him, not knowing what he was going to do with it? In seconds your life can forever change. It’s almost an insurmountable goal to think we can get teens to make those decisions at the last minute. Sitting in the car drunk is too late. We’ve got to keep them from getting in that car. Better still; keep them from hanging out with the wrong crowd.

These are conversations that should be ongoing with our kids and grandkids. Sometimes even good kids can do stupid things in groups. We feel less personally responsible in a group of friends.

If Herbie had been driving alone, I don’t think he would’ve hurled that brick. He wasn’t a bad guy. (In fact, today he’s in law enforcement in a Northern California city!) On the flip side of that, I probably would’ve thrown that brick in the presence of friends just to fit in. We shouldn’t have been drinking but I don’t blame the alcohol. Teens can do reckless things while totally sober.

I was reluctant to write this column because no one wants to hang a spotlight on his or her shameful, stupid moments. But I decided to do it because I was a gifted student from a good religious middle class family and still was fully capable of making stupid decisions to fit in.

It’s hard to impress upon an “invincible” teen that thinks he or she knows everything to be wary of bad influences or just the problem of groupthink. But that’s our job as parents and grandparents.

I don’t want to ever get a phone call that my grandkids were arrested along with several friends for doing something awful. I’m going to be a broken record on this subject. Peace.

Kelvin Wade is the author of “Morsels” Vols. I and II and lives in Fairfield. Email him at kelvinjwade@aol.com.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Discussion | 2 comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Read our full policy

  • CD BrooksMarch 13, 2014 - 7:35 am

    Kelvin, if we're all being honest we can say we had similar or worse situations too. We had a great family and parents that stayed on us. But we were four boys and when we got loose, it was scary. We talk about our "exploits" all the time sharing them with family and friends. We've never hidden them from our kids they grew up knowing we weren't perfect. We're all invested in our families and the thing our kids hated worse was not getting in trouble, but knowing everyone else in the family would hear about it! We're lucky they are all successful well-adjusted adults now with kids of their own. We are proud to say they are raising their kids as they were raised!

    Reply | Report abusive comment
  • Clark HendersonMarch 13, 2014 - 3:10 pm

    Excellent example and advice. I hope a lot of people heed this advice and prepare their children and grandchildren for difficult situations that will inevitably arise. Great job Kelvin.

    Reply | Report abusive comment
.

Solano News

Hartley House offers look into Vacaville’s past

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: C1 | Gallery

 
County makes recommendations for crude-by-rail

By Barry Eberling | From Page: A1 | Gallery

New toilet paper sizes will wipe me out!

By Brad Stanhope | From Page: A2

 
Coastal Cleanup helps get rid of trash in area

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A3 | Gallery

Travis teachers bring creativity to Shakespeare

By Susan Winlow | From Page: A3

 
Olympians to participate in swim Lap-a-Thon

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

Circle of Friends director to speak in Fairfield

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A3

 
Be alert to stroke warning signs

By Marilyn Ranson | From Page: C4

Recovery community works for lifelong sobriety

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A4 | Gallery

 
Musical merry-go-round at Jazz Festival

By Amy Maginnis-Honey | From Page: A5 | Gallery

Deadline looms for lobster boil tickets

By Glen Faison | From Page: A5

 
2 die after car slams into tree on Nut Tree Road

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A5

Crashes blocks parts of eastbound I-80 in Fairfield

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A5

 
Seven Artisans opens tasting room

By Barry Eberling | From Page: B7 | Gallery

BABA makes big spash

By Bud Stevenson | From Page: B7

 
Old Kmart site sees signs of new life

By Brian Miller and Karl Dumas | From Page: B8 | Gallery

Veterans with PTSD could see discharge upgrades

By Tom Philpott | From Page: B10

 
Airmen with local ties finish basic training

By Nick DeCicco | From Page: B10

Fairfield police log: Sept. 19, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

 
Suisun City police log: Sept. 19, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A12

.

US / World

Potential push for Obama to expand military effort

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

 
Teams assess damage as California wildfire burns

By The Associated Press | From Page: A1

McInerney, Duka help Impact beat Earthquakes

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

 
Old pets, new chances: The case for senior adoption

By Mcclatchy-Tribune News Service | From Page: C4

Jailed, some mentally ill inmates land in lockdown

By The Associated Press | From Page: A6

 
Custer youngest winner at 16 in NASCAR series

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

Retro-hip barber is growing an ‘empire’ by staying on the cutting edge

By Mcclatchy-Tribune News Service | From Page: C6

 
Tense hunt in trooper ambush case hits 8 days

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

Tour ship runs aground by NYC’s Statue of Liberty

By The Associated Press | From Page: A7

 
Astronauts getting 3-D printer at space station

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

Chrysler recalling nearly 189,000 SUVs

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Fire captain injured in ice bucket challenge dies

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

More than 1K people search for missing UVa student

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

 
Second man arrested trying to enter White House

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10

Pope chooses a moderate for Chicago archbishop

By The Associated Press | From Page: A10 | Gallery

 
NATO chief: Ukraine has cease-fire ‘in name only’

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

Kurdish fighters head to Syria to face militants

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

 
Turkish hostages freed, but questions linger

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11

Sierra Leone staggers in Ebola isolation effort

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11 | Gallery

 
El-Sissi ready to back anti-IS fight

By The Associated Press | From Page: A11 | Gallery

Polly Bergen, versatile actress, singer dies at 84

By The Associated Press | From Page: A12

 
.

Opinion

 
Stores miss bus on public transit

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8

Sunset Animal Hospital is the best

By Letter to the Editor | From Page: A8

 
Sound off for Sept. 21, 2014

By Daily Republic | From Page: A8

Pulse poll: Will the drought end this year?

By Daily Republic | From Page: A8

 
New car’s fuel mileage accuracy put to the test

By Glen Faison | From Page: A8

 
Obamacare enrollees actually paying premiums

By Megan Mcardle | From Page: A9

 
Will they ever get the message?

By Rod Keck | From Page: A9

.

Living

Community Calendar: Sept. 21, 2014

By Susan Hiland | From Page: A2

 
Today in History: Sept. 21, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: A2

There is no message of hatred of violence in Christianity

By The Rev. Rick L. Stonestreet | From Page: C3

 
St. Paul pastor’s pulpit? A food truck

By The Associated Press | From Page: C3 | Gallery

Horoscopes: Sept. 21, 2014

By Holiday Mathis | From Page: C4

 
My child’s father and I worked things out – but now I’m not so sure

By Kathy Mitchell and Marcy Sugar | From Page: C4

.

Entertainment

Author says Christian novel plagiarized, sex added

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2 | Gallery

 
Springsteen picture book out in November

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

Erdrich wins lifetime achievement literary prize

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

 
Designer Donna Karan memoir expected next year

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BEST-SELLERS

By The Associated Press | From Page: C2

 
TVGrid

By Daily Republic Syndicated Content | From Page: B11

.

Sports

Prep boys soccer preview: Indians, Vikings off to fast start

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Patriots big favorites vs. Raiders despite mediocre start

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Williams beats A’s for third time with third team

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

 
Cardinals look to shake off distraction vs. 49ers

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1 | Gallery

Cashner, Padres beat Giants 3-2

By The Associated Press | From Page: B1

 
Vacaville Christian volleyball team falls in playoffs

By Daily Republic staff | From Page: B3

Schumacher, Hagan win rain-delayed Carolina event

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

 
College football Top 25

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

No. 1 Florida St survives against No. 22 Clemson

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3 | Gallery

 
Sprint car driver killed in Wisconsin

By The Associated Press | From Page: B3

Travis Bowl results

By Daily Republic | From Page: B4

 
Mi Jung Hur, Paula Reto share lead in Alabama

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

Stars Recreation results

By Daily Republic | From Page: B4

 
Estimated 7,000 fans trade in Ray Rice jerseys

By The Associated Press | From Page: B4 | Gallery

This date in sports history for Sunday, Sept. 21, 2014

By The Associated Press | From Page: B5

 
Sports on TV for Sunday, Sept. 21, 2014

By Paul Farmer | From Page: B5

Gaughan snatches Nationwide win at Kentucky

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

 
Harvick dismisses wins as key to Cup title

By The Associated Press | From Page: B6 | Gallery

.

Business

Extended warranties a big sell. Are they worth it?

By The Associated Press | From Page: B7 | Gallery

 
Recalls this week: fire alarm bases, swings

By The Associated Press | From Page: B8

US tobacco growers brace for tougher competition

By The Associated Press | From Page: B12 | Gallery

 
Marijuana industry battling stoner stereotypes

By The Associated Press | From Page: B12 | Gallery

.

Obituaries

George Junior Rhode

By Nancy Green | From Page: A4

 
.

Comics