Solano County

Food bank leader wins award

By From page A3 | April 18, 2013

FAIRFIELD — The leader of the Food Bank of Contra Costa and Solano has won the 2013 John van Hengel Fellowship award from Feeding America.

Larry Sly is executive director of the food bank. The national award honors the ideals of Hengel, a soup kitchen volunteer and community activist credited with founding the nation’s first food bank in 1967.

“There are so many excellent leaders in the food-bank movement who have won this award before me, so I am understandably humbled and honored to be among them this year,” Sly said in a press release. “I am proud to be part of a food bank that is as much a part of this award as me.”

Sly began working for a food bank in 1976 as a truck driver. He is the longest-tenured food bank director in the Feeding American network. Last year, the Food Bank of Contra Costa and Solano delivered 16 million pounds of food.

Reach Barry Eberling at 427-6929 or [email protected] Follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/beberlingdr.

Barry Eberling

Barry Eberling

Barry Eberling has been a reporter with the Daily Republic since 1987. He covers Solano County government, transportation, growth and the environment. He received his bachelors of art degree from the University of California, Santa Barbara and his masters degree in journalism from the University of California, Berkeley.

Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.