Solano County

Crowded ballot for Suisun council; Vacaville ballot nearly set

By From page A1 | August 09, 2014

FAIRFIELD — The ballot is set in Suisun City and almost so in Vacaville, with contests for city council in both communities and a question mark for mayor in Vacaville.

City Council incumbents Jane Day and Michael Hudson in Suisun City will defend their council seats against five challengers: Jan Davenport, Alicia Hawkins, Nabil K. Lothae, Amit Pal and Sean Strickland. Day has served on the council 28 years. Hudson was elected in 2006 and re-elected in 2010.

Mayor Pete Sanchez has no challengers. It will be Sanchez’s third term as mayor. He served as a council member from 1994 through 2006.

A council race is also set in Vacaville, with incumbents Mitch Mashburn and Curtis Hunt vying to retain their seats and challenger Cara Fox seeking to take one of the two seats. The Vacaville mayor’s race is not yet set. Mayor Steve Hardy announced that he will not seek re-election. Councilman Ron Rowlett is on the ballot for mayor. The filing period is automatically extended when an incumbent does not seek re-election.

That’s the case as well in the Rio Vista City Council contest, where incumbent Constance Boulware and challenger Ronald Kott have filed for office. Incumbent Timothy Kubli is not seeking re-election.

There’s a busy ballot for Dixon City Council. Incumbents Dane Besneatte and Thom Bogue face four challengers: Michael J. Ceremello Jr., Ted Hickman, Devon Minnema and Scott Pederson. The top two vote-getters will win council seats.

Amy Maginnis-Honey contributed to this report. Reach Glen Faison at 427-6925 or [email protected] Follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/GlenFaison.

School board races

  • Fairfield-Suisun School District: The district shifts to trustee area voting this year, with contests in three areas. Two candidates are vying for the Area 4 seat, which has no incumbent. They are Robert Lucky and Chris L. Wilson. One candidate – the only one to seek the seat – will represent Area 5, which also had no incumbent. He’s Jonathan Richardson. The Area 7 ballot is not yet set. Incumbent David C. Isom has filed to seek re-election, but incumbent Perry W. Polk opted for a Fairfield City Council run. That extends the filing period. Joyce L. Oren has taken out nomination papers in Area 7, but has not filed for office.
  • Vacaville School District: Incumbents Michele Dally, David McCallum and Horace Whitman face challenges from Jeremy Jeffreys, Deloris Roach, Judith D. Ruggiero and Tracee Stacy. The top three candidates will win the election. Two candidates are seeking a short-term seat. They are incumbent Christopher Flask and challenger Shawn Windham.
Glen Faison

Glen Faison

Glen Faison joined the Daily Republic as managing editor in September 2009. He previously worked as a reporter and editor for daily and weekly newspapers in the San Joaquin Valley for 20-plus years. His experience includes time as editor of the Golden Eagle, a military paper serving the Lemoore Naval Air Station. He graduated from Fresno State University with a bachelor's degree in journalism and bleeds Bulldogs red. He is an avid fan of the NFL's Washington team, and attended the 1988 NFC Championship Game against the Minnesota Vikings at RFK Stadium. He's a member of the Fairfield-Suisun Twilight Rotary Club and a board member for the Solano County Library Foundation. He married his wife, Jill, in 2005, and has three children: Courtni, Tyler and Hayli.

Discussion | 1 comment

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Steven KaysAugust 09, 2014 - 11:46 am

    Jane Day and Michael Hudson get deeply involved with Suisun's issues. It is hard work.

    Reply | Report abusive comment
  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.