Nelda Mundy, Oakbrook earn California Distinguished Schools honors

By From page A4 | May 01, 2014

FAIRFIELD — Nelda Mundy and Oakbrook elementary schools in the Fairfield-Suisun School District have been named California Distinguished Schools.

“It is quite an honor,” the Solano County Office of Education said in a release.

The California Department of Education selected the schools and reports that 405 elementary schools in the state were eligible to apply for the distinguished school designation this year, the county office said.

Schools must meet a variety of eligibility criteria such as designated federal and state accountability measures based on the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act and California’s Academic Performance Index requirements, the county office said.

A site visit coordinated by the Solano County Office of Education followed the completed applications.

Matthew Turner Elementary School in Benicia is the other Solano County school to earn the 2014 distinguished schools designation. Elementary and along with middle and high schools are recognized during alternate years.

Reach Ryan McCarthy at 427-6935 or [email protected]

Ryan McCarthy


Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.