College set to honor, recognize supporters, alumni, faculty

By From page A6 | May 07, 2014

FAIRFIELD — John Zeltin began his college education career at Solano Community College graduating with an associate degree in 1961.

That was a long time ago, but the former Vallejoan never forgot Solano College – even after earning a bachelor of arts from California State University, Sacramento, a master’s from Columbia University and finishing off his academics at the Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Zeltin, a resident of New York City, is responsible for funding thousands of dollars in scholarships for Solano College students who otherwise might not be able to continue their educational dreams.

He, and several others, will be recognized and honored Wednesday at the college’s Celebrate SCC 2014 event from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in the quad area of the main campus, 4000 Suisun Valley Road. The event is put on by the Solano Community College Educational Foundation.

Award recipients include:

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Jack Anthony (owner, 7 Flags Car Wash); Veronica Favela-Diaz (owner, Favela’s Mexican Grill); Andrea E. Garcia (director of external relations, Touro University); John H. Hill (vice president, general manager, Valero Benicia Refinery); Mike Martin (Solano College governing board trustee); Aaron McAlister (Dixon fire chief); Karen McCord (Solano College professor of psychology and ethnic studies coordinator); Mel Orpilla (district representative for Rep. Mike Thompson); Simone Padilla-Scholtens (Solano County auditor-controller); Marc C. Tonnesen (Solano County assessor/recorder); Louise A. Walker (president, CEO, First Northern Bank); and John Zeltin (Zeltin Consulting).

Zeltin will also be presented with the 2013-14 Alumni of the Year award, said Curt Johnston, the college foundation’s executive director. In the past couple of years, Zeltin has given $36,000 in scholarship money to various students.

“He’s just gone above and beyond,” Johnston said.

Passion for Programs

Also being recognized are various college faculty and staff who donate back to the college each month through their paychecks. They are:

  • All-Stars: Kevin Anderson, Marianne Flatland, Barbara Fountain, Jowel Laguerre and Marcie McDaniels.
  • Stars: David Doty, Mary Haley, Shirley Lewis, Alfred Murillo, Donald Pederson, Maria Santiago, Barbara Pavao, Alison Aubert, Robert Daprato, Lisa Giambastiani, Chris Lugatiman, Genele Rhoads, Tracy Schneider, Anna Troupe and Patricia Young.

Two members of the general public are also be recognized for donations of $1,000 under the President’s Circle moniker. They are Mac McManigal and Stephen Murphy.

Honorary degree recipients

Also to be recognized will be this year’s honorary degree recipients Judi Honeychurch, Buck Kamphausen, Verna Mustico, Richard Rico, and Amber and C.C. Sabathia. They will be fully honored during the college’s commencement. Johnston noted that Sabathia, a pitcher for the New York Yankees, and his wife, will be honored later in the year after baseball season is over.

The 2013-14 Manager of the Year will be announced, in addition to feting the 2013-14 college retirees, service year recipients and Emeritus retirees.

For more information on the event, call 864-7177.

Reach Susan Winlow at 427-6955 or [email protected] Follow her on Twitter at www.twitter.com/swinlowdr.


Discussion | No comments

The Daily Republic does not necessarily condone the comments here, nor does it review every post. Please read our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy before commenting.

  • Recent Articles

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2016 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life and other community-driven publications.